Poetry: Procrastination Broken Poem

POEM

Procrastination Broken

I can do more; I tell myself,
yet I just do nothing.
There’s a better way to fix this,
but I’m so used to this.
My wish, deep down, is to change things,
why am I stuck to this?

If I’ve coped with it all this while,
why can’t I keep coping?
If I could do without all these,
why bother about them?
Life should not be just bearable.
In life, we must enjoy!

If I was able to do some,
then I can do much more.
Though I may cope with all of these,
I can turn things around.
I must not keep the status-quo,
I can set a new pace.

Things must not be the way they are,
that’s what my mind tells me.
I can step out and make the change,
enough of excuses.
Procrastination has to die,
and so must indifference.

It breaks my heart, it keeps me sad;
that I stick to routine.
Stagnancy and redundancy
may have reduced my pace.
But time has come to make a change,
and that change I must make.

It’s time to breakdown all the weight
that easily entangles.
I’ll break the chains and free myself
from every form of yoke.
Once things are right, then I can cruise
and keep the flag up high.

Procrastination now broken
with steps of faith engaged.
I’ll keep dreaming and keep working
ensuring all is well.
Every new day must be better
than that which precedes it.

Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teecee.
Poetry: Procrastination Broken Poem

Daily Prompt: Breakdown suggested this;

“Tell us about a habit you’d like to break. Is there any way it can play a positive role in your life?”
Photographers, artists, poets: show us BROKEN.
This is my own way of expressing “Broken”.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Poetry: Procrastination Broken Poem

  1. cobbies69 says:

    I recognise and relate to a lot of these words.. great poem… 🙂

  2. nanopod says:

    Enjoy indeed!!
    Keep believing, and keep moving forward!
    Thanks, Teecee!

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Hard Habit to Break | My Atheist Blog

  4. Pingback: Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  5. Pingback: Habit breaking | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  6. Pingback: Breakdown: Broken Down | Khana's Web

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Breakdown | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  8. Pingback: Rob's Surf Report

  9. Hi Son, I enjoy very much how you put your thoughts in verse, you are very talented but then your my Grandson and it runs in the family 🙂

    Procrastination can stop the flow but sometimes it can help it, meaning we take time to put things in order and not just rush into what presents as needed to be done.

    God tells us to wait on Him, meaning to Trust Him for the right timing, He will motivate us to move on.

    Christian Love from us both – Grannie Annie

    • You are so right, Grannie. Sometimes, things are resolved in much better ways than they would have been, after we’ve allowed some time to pass.
      Contentment has it’s role to play, yet, we know that God grants us the desires of our hearts.
      Even when we don’t make the moves that seem urgent, we ought to keep hoping and dreaming. Somehow, things fall in place. All things work together for our good; that’s what I believe.
      Thanks for those words that show wisdom and experience, Grannie Annie.
      Regards to Ron.

  10. Great post, and matches my work of transformation.

  11. Sending you blessings during your time of change teecee 🙂

  12. Pingback: BECOMING | hastywords

  13. Linda Vernon says:

    What a wonderful poem on procrastination. Oh I think it is such a big problem in everybody’s life. I love this because it’s wise and uplifting and a good pep talk too. 😀

  14. Yes, we hope for a better day before it. A better life , a better heart and mind than the past. Beautiful and moving.

    • Thanks for stopping by, Island Traveler. I can see that travelers best understand that life is a journey in which we must keep getting better, if we must arrive our destination in grand style.
      We’ve got to keep hoping and keep moving.
      I appreciate your relevant words! 🙂

  15. Desperado says:

    This is brilliant. Well done! I can totally relate to this.

Leave a Reply

