Poem: Home Sweet Home Is Choice

POEM

Home Sweet Home.

Where else would I be,
if I am not at home?
What is there to do,
if I am not at home?
Home is peace and joy.
At home, life is good!

There’s no face to fear,
no reason for shame.
Freely shed some tear,
gladly play my game.
This simply is home.

With my mobile phone,
resting on a couch.
I can feel at home,
without any pouch.
This for me; is home.

Far away from home,
I often wonder;
what would people think?
What could lie in wait?
Home is home indeed!

I love to be home;
no room to pretend.
Yes, just feel at home;
expect the day’s end.
Home makes life so sweet!

I play my own tunes,
I express myself.
Things meet my own taste,
my decisions stand.
What else could be home?

Where I’m my own boss;
I select my style.
I choose when to rest,
I dictate the pace.
I smile when I’m home.

Who sings an anthem?
Who wears uniforms?
Who rings a loud bell?
Who clocks in or out?
None of such; at home.

I can strum the strings,
I can rock or roll.
I could go sleeveless.
I’ve got a matress.
It’s my way; at home.

You may sing at home.
You may dance at home.
Pain is mild at home.
There’s comfort at home.
Make your place a home.

Feel at home with friends,
locate your choice place.
Your friends must bring peace,
and so must your tasks.
Home Sweet Home; is choice!

Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teecee.
This poem describes the joys of home. No sweet home is an accident. Make quality choice of your companions, do the same with your locations. Don’t be moved by compulsions; a cheerful heart exudes comfort. Be the one to create the joy that you dream. You can make a home with those who treasure your values.
Home may not just be a place, it could also be a state of mind. Make the best choice and enjoy a sweet home.
This poem was written in response to: Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home
which says;
“When you’re away from home, what person, thing, or place do you miss the most?
Photographers, artists, poets: show us HOME.”
You can click on the link above to see what creative concepts other bloggers have about HOME.
Poem: Home Sweet Home Is Choice.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Poem: Home Sweet Home Is Choice

  1. Ah the joys of “home” 🙂 wherever it is 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on idealisticrebel and commented:
    A well done poem on Home

  3. Hi Son, sometimes a home is just a house there is no warmth and joy, nothing to look forward to, you feel like a lost stranger but a home like in your expressive poem is a place that brings True contentment and Peace, like our Heavenly Home.

    How I long for my Jesus, Spiritual Husband to return so we will be together in the Mansion He has prepared for me with the Treasure I have stored up but until than even though I’m a stranger and pilgrim on earth, I give thanks for His many blessings and that I’m counted worthy to receive all the good He has prepared for me and the great inner Joy that is mine because He has taken me into His Heart my Eternal Home, there awaits a City of Gold that does not tarnish.

    Hebrews 11:16 But now they desire a better Country, that is, an Heavenly: wherefore God is not ashamed to be called their God: for He hath prepared for them a City.

    1Peter 2:11 Dearly beloved, I beseech you as strangers and pilgrims, abstain from fleshly lusts, which war against the soul.

    Christian Love from both of us – Grannie Annie

    • Grannie Annie!
      How I long for the moments when our peace shall be eternal and our joys will have no bounds.
      A home without the slightest discomfort and without room for anxiety.
      I’m glad that a grateful heart and a believing soul, can enjoy some level of peace and contentment in this world.
      Perfection may seem far fetched, physically, but with hope, faith and love; every moment on the path to a perfect home can be enjoyed and not just endured.
      Home is the best place to be. A home is not just a mere house.
      The home holds peace, and it refreshes.
      Thanks for stopping by, Grannie Annie. You always make my day!
      Regards to Ron.

  4. Tee why are my comments being moderated on your blog now , they were not before and this is not the first time I have used this name but since I have not changed my e-mail address or URL it should not make any difference. Please advise why?

    Anne

  5. Posted again …. Sometimes Son a home is just a house there is no warmth and joy, nothing to look forward to, you feel like a lost stranger but a home like in your expressive poem is a place that brings True contentment and Peace, like our Heavenly Home.

    How I long for my Jesus, Spiritual Husband to return so we will be together in the Mansion He has prepared for me with the Treasure I have stored up but until than even though I’m a stranger and pilgrim on earth, I give thanks for His many blessings and that I’m counted worthy to receive all the good He has prepared for me and the great inner Joy that is mine because He has taken me into His Heart my Eternal Home, there awaits a City of Gold that does not tarnish.

    Hebrews 11:16 But now they desire a better Country, that is, an Heavenly: wherefore God is not ashamed to be called their God: for He hath prepared for them a City.

    1Peter 2:11 Dearly beloved, I beseech you as strangers and pilgrims, abstain from fleshly lusts, which war against the soul.

    Christian Love from both of us – Grannie Annie

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | Processing the life

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  8. A friend recently commented to me that a wise woman in her life, years ago, had told her that “home is under your hat”. As I wander and roam, more and more I am aware that home is where we are, who we are and with who we are. My version of “home is where the heart is” I suppose.

    • You are so right, my dear. Home is where the heart is. I can confidently list you among the wise. Thank you so much for your wise words, Crowing Crone Joss. I sincerely appreciate! 🙂

  9. Pingback: Dublin, Ireland | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

