Poem: An Ode To My Love

Daily Prompt: Cupid’s Arrow has just inspired a new post with these beautiful words:

It’s Valentine’s Day, so write an ode to someone or something you love. Bonus points for poetry!

Poetry is one thing I love so much, I wonder if it comes naturally. But then, you can bet I’ll try my hands on this.

An Ode To My Love

I love you, my love.
I’m glad you love me too.
You love me though I’m poor.
You believe I can make wealth.

You are so humble, my love.
Humble enough to love me.
I won’t despise such virtue.
I will upgrade to your taste.

You gave me your whole heart,
not just a room in it.
You accept me as I am,
not minding my meek state.

You believe in me, my love.
I won’t fail you, I love you.
You trust that I’ll succeed.
What could make me breach that trust?

I’ll surprise you, my love.
Or would it be a surprise?
To make your dream come true.
You seem more sure than me.

I’ve got no dreams, my love
but to make you very proud.
I’ll keep working on myself
till I have a home that befits you.

I won’t give myself rest,
till I measure up to your taste.
The fact that you love me
teaches me what love means.

You love me, my love
despite the fact that I don’t deserve it.
I love you, my love
for your sake, I’ll live for love.

Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teecee.
An ode is a poem addressed to a person or thing or celebrating an event.
Poems are categorized under the genre of literature called poetry.
This poem or piece of poetry is about love.
It is precisely about my own type of love, if you understand what I mean.
My love is the one who inspires me to love.
My love is the reason I live and love.
Love is my love.
Poem: An Ode To My Love

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life, Love, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Poem: An Ode To My Love

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Cupid’s Arrow – Poem / Poetry – “Feasting on Feral Feelings” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. Pingback: UNENDING LOVE « hastywords

  3. BEAUTIFUL! And let me tell you that the piece I shared with my students got a very happy and heartfelt applause… Some of my students got to read a few lines out loud and I read the ending… They all sighed and then applauded… I loved the response. I wasn’t expecting a whole discourse as a reaction, I don’t think they have yet enough vocabulary to express themselves in matters of the heart, so a profound sigh and the applause were perfect! Thank you for letting me share your writing with them 🙂 Alexandra

    • You are very welcome, Alexandra!
      You have just given me the best gift ever. How can I appreciate you enough?
      You love your students so much, you work with conviction and not just to fulfil obligations of employers, you are different from the world…
      I am so excited that our paths crossed.
      Friends like you are rare to come by.
      This generation and generations to come are blessed to have you.
      Thank you! 🙂

      • I have been lucky Teecee, the school principal trusts me enough to let me be as creative as I can with my classes, knowing that I am a nerd at heart and that I LOVE seeing people learn…I have no real teaching skills, I am an architect by profession but a teacher by vocation which gives me a bit of the confidence needed despite knowing that I ignore sooooo much… right now, I’m on a quest to open their eyes to a richer view of the world, a view that they will be surprised to understand… like your piece on friendship!

      • That’s beautiful of you; to habour such lovely intentions and to consistently work towards achieving them.
        I am always happy when I remember you and how much effort you put into your love for teaching.
        We seem to have a lot in common.
        I am a Civil Engineer and you must have sensed how interested I am in learning and teaching.
        It is my dream to see the world completely taken over by love and peace.
        I dream to see people who’s attributes are forgiveness, selflessness and generousity.
        There is enough for everyone on earth, no need for struggles, competition and war. Majority seem lost in illusions, bitterness, revenge, greed and all forms of ills.
        You’ve got beautiful intentions, my dear. Carry on with them.
        Success is inevitable!

      • At the end of each class when my students say THANK YOU TEACHER before they leave…THAT is SUCCESS to me! 🙂

      • If you can be grateful for as little as this, then greater success in inevitable. Right now, children say “Thank you, Teacher”. Soon, Senators, Ministers, Presidents, governors and heads of states would be the ones saying “Thank you, Teacher”.
        When seeds fall to the ground and die, they spring back to life with numerous fruits and seeds.
        You are gratefully playing the humble role, honour will definitely locate you.
        I am delighted with you, my friend! 🙂

      • Now Teecee, you touched on an important aspect… Recognition… I am not looking for it…I have no idea what the circumstances would need to be for me to feel worthy of it… I do want to “be here after I’m gone” (quoting Mike the NLP practitioner Stu just interviewed) but for that to happen I’ve still got so much to do making me feel completely inadequate at the thought of recognition while I’m alive…it was really complicated for me to accept the honor you bestowed upon me recently… I just hope I do achieve all I can withthe potential I’ve got and not undermine it trying to avoid bigger success… Jajajaaaaa you got me thinking about greatness as if it was easily achievable… This is surreal!

      • In life, the humble gets exalted and faithful servants become masters.
        Pursuing results at the expense of process only provides momentary success.
        You can imagine structures with poor support; they are unstable and will fail when loaded.
        You have chosen a path to eternal recognition by being faithful with the seemingly little things.
        Faith is more efficient than competence, grace is more fruitful than work and humility provides more honour than qualification.
        You are great, all that you need to do to achieve greatness is to be yourself.
        Be the best of yourself, my friend. You are an amazing personality!
        🙂

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Cupid’s Arrow « Big Bowl Of Thought Soup

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Cupid’s Arrow … in the Southern Sky it flew yesterday! | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Cupid’s Arrow … in the Southern Sky it flew yesterday!s | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  7. Pingback: Love poetry on the Internet | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  8. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – 14 Words For Love – The Definitive Collection | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  9. salman_habib says:

    Your poems make my heart melt with joy. Thank you for the beautiful dedications ! You are such a kind and beautiful person, spreading love and happiness. I wish you have a beautiful day my dear friend.

  10. Pingback: Love poetry on the Internet | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave a comment