Prompt: Mobile Phone And Flipping Pages

Answering a question, such as the one below, is not really an easy task.
How do you prefer to read, with an eReader like a Kindle or Nook, or with an old school paperback in hand?
Mind The Gap, has inspired me to put my thoughts on this matter together.

This also matches Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe, which says; Describe your relationship with your phone. Is it your lifeline, a buzzing nuisance, or something in between?

This post also matches Daily Prompt: The Little Things; “Describe a little thing — one of the things you love that define you worlds but is often overlooked.”

I have always loved to read books and I enjoy flipping papers.
I really prefered books that had pictures as a child. I actually remember flipping through books, simply to watch the pictures.
In secondary school, the reason I loved biology textbooks was the fact that they always had interesting pictures.
Flipping the pages of a book is fun. It is even much more fun when the content is enjoyable. “You just can’t wait to get to the next page!”. I don’t know if you’ve ever felt that way before?
Gradually, trends began to change.
When I owned my first mobile phone, I discovered that I loved sending text messages. I was always fascinated by changing settings and altering button functionalities in my phone.
There probably was no feature that I did not manipulate on my very first phone.
I began playing games on my mobile phone and spending quite a lot of time with it.
Without knowing, I had developed some proficiency with the use of my mobile phone keypad. In a while, my mobile phone also became my notepad.
I used my first mobile phone until it could no longer be used.
On my next purchace, I considered internet accessibility, contact and message storage capacity.
The keypad had smaller buttons, a more interesting shape and a unique feel accompanied by a lovely sound when pressed.
Ofcourse I was soon acclimatized to my second mobile phone and my attachment to phones was consistently growing.
My subsequent mobile phones kept improving in functionality, up to the point that right now, I am typing this entire piece on my mobile phone and will upload it for you to read as a blogpost.
I believe that you get the point now.
Without intentionally making any particular effort towards a particular reading format, I reallized that the volume of words I have consumed on my mobile phone, through reading blogposts and various digital formats on eReaders have surpassed the volume that I have consumed on a paperback.
I still love to flip pages and I love the fact that I can still read a paperback with or without access to electricity, but I also know that I am more attached to my mobile phone by default.
My mobile phone enables me to read all manner of electronic documents. That’s probably by the eReader concept. I enjoy being able to read and write in any position of my choice.
Right now, I am lying on my back and facing the ceiling, without compromising my desire to answer the question of my preferred reading alternative.
I would always gladly buy a paperback book that catches my interest, but I wonder how often that happens, when my interest is consistently in the numerous ones I have access to, through my mobile phone.
I love to read and I love to flip the pages of a book, but I seem to prefer pressing the bottons of my mobile phone and discovering new possibilities inside my mobile phone.
With the endless possibilities in the internet world, I’m consistently engrossed in my mobile phone.
I read so much without even reallizing it.
I write so much without a pen and paper.
I prefer pencils to pens these days, but nothing beats reading and writing on my mobile phone.
I have access to dictioneries, search engines, games, presentations, spreadsheets, word processors and numerous mobile applications through my mobile phone.
My paperbacks don’t afford me such luxury, but I still love them.
A smart phone provides numerous functionalities concurrently and the possibilities keep getting more promising by the day.
As time goes on, I would probably be more engrossed with the eReader on my mobile phone than I already am.
I still love flipping the pages of my paper back, but my mobile phone has my attention.

Finally, another prompt; Daily Prompt: Toy Story, came up with a question: What was your favorite plaything as a child? Do you see any connection between your life now, and your favorite childhood toy?

Again, it is my mobile phone.
As long as I have a mobile phone in my hand, I can find one or two things to keep me busy and happy.
Relating it to my life, how do you think I am responding to this prompt, if not through my mobile phone?
I blog, maybe because my mobile phone allows me to and I’m using my mobile phone, maybe because it allows me blog.
Whichever way, my childhood toy has turned out to be my most valuable worktool; my mobile phone!

Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teecee.
Mobile Phone And Flipping Pages.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Prompt: Mobile Phone And Flipping Pages

  1. JasmineKyle says:

    I’m a book bound girl!

  2. Pingback: eReaders or Hardcopies? How about Both? « A YoungEmt's Blog

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe | My Blog

  4. Pingback: WE CALLED EACH OTHER ALL SUMMER « hastywords

  5. Pingback: Big Phonale – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe … or Ring, Ring | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  7. Pingback: It’s the little things that count | New Visions

  8. Pingback: Fiddling Fixer | Travellin' Thru Rambles

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Little Things | Infinitely

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s Those Little Things I Appreciate | My Daily Prompt Blog

  11. Pingback: Aunt Sadie’s Locket (Short story) | The Jittery Goat

  12. Pingback: Small But Meaningful | Edward Hotspur

  13. Pingback: The Little Things – Daily Prompt | Lyrical Anarchy

  14. Pingback: Friday Ficlet/Fragment – Words, Words, Words | Tommia's Tablet

  15. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Little Things | On My Front Porch

  16. Pingback: MINIATURES- THE LITTLE THINGS! | Diary of a mind

  17. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  18. Pingback: It’s Doggie Playtime | Anchors Aweigh

  19. Pingback: My doll house | A mom's blog

  20. Pingback: Did I really have a favorite toy? | Rob's Surf Report

  21. Pingback: Bears, Teddy and Otherwise | The Silver Leaf Journal

  22. Pingback: By A Show Of Hands, Who Played With Barbies… That Still Had Their Heads? | Molly Greye

  23. Pingback: Friendly monsters | Natasha's Memory Garden

Leave a comment