The Stranded Genius

It takes a lot to be unique, exceptional, independent, self reliant and a genius. These qualities could sometimes lead to pride and loneliness on your part or envy and jealousy on the part of those around. If not properly carried, they could sap the juices out of life.

Hope I can throw sufficient light to this my concept?
Well, let me start and watch how it goes.

“It takes great skill and talent to conceal great skill and talent.”

Being exceptional distinguishes! Distinction attracts attention and attention in turn comes with lots and lots of side attractions that most times turn to be either distractions or outright opposition.
Funny, but sometimes people sieze to appear acceptable once there is a glarring disparity between them and others.

Note: Never become ordinary or common to become acceptable but be smart enough not to make people feel like trash around you.
The moment the signal that you are too good for those around you is sensed, a reaction that may be unfavourable is triggered and it sure spreads like a plague.

There are geniuses and there are exceptional geniuses. The difference is simple; some are just high up while some can come to the level of others.

“Appear dumber than your mark”. I came across this as one of the Laws in the book “48 Laws of Power” and it sounded a lot like pretence but there probably is a good side of it.
What matters in life most times is the results you produce and not necessarily your appearance.
“It is good to appear good but it is better to be good” -Teecee.

Try not to mistake one for the other. People love those that can offer them help and not leave them feeling inferior. That’s the point. You may truly be exceptional but you shouldn’t let it ruin your vital relationships.

Do you sometimes feel that you are too good for those around you?

Do you also wonder why they neither appreciate nor respect your uniqueness?

Possibly they consider you a lunatic, not because they don’t understand the mysteries and theories that you propound but because you can’t come low enough to see reason with the little ones that they are able to come up with.

Neither treat people nor their ideas as trash, no matter how irrelevant or out of point it may be. Always understand that without expression there would be neither evaluation nor improvement.

You truly may be unique but alone, you are most likely going to wither.
Surround yourself with those that can keep you in the right spirits.

Be of help to them and appreciate their help in return. If you can cope with both their pride and ignorance, only with time, you will in turn have a community of cheerful, stable, productive and relevant people.

You don’t need to smear your uniqueness or get it adultrated but you don’t need to think others are worthless either. Life always keeps us on an edge, it’s our duty to find the balance.

Pulling too hard on some strings would simply break them and a weak pull at them would not give the effect.

People are different from each other, just as we are different from everybody else but when we severe ourselves from the very people that make us standout, what we make of ourselves is a stranded genius.

Smiles! Are you considering my tenses and the structuring of my phrases?
Another smile! Try not to miss the point; it’s not about my use of English this time.
Don’t make yourself a stranded genius!

Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teecee.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Stranded Genius

  1. “It takes a lot to be unique, exceptional, independent, self reliant and a genius. These qualities could sometimes lead to pride and loneliness on your part or envy and jealousy on the part of those around. If not properly carried, they could sap the juices out of life.”

    I wouldn´t dare consider myself a genius or exceptional, unique-yes, self-reliant-yes, independent- I try my best but have my weak moments, eventhough I don´t fill all the requirements, my inquisitive nature and my need for answers and information do make me different from most of my family members and friends and it does end up making me a bit lonely, I have no idea if there´s envy or jealousy involved, however silence is, mostly on my part and it recently became an uncomfortable silence with one of my family members, we had nothing to talk about, my topic of conversations don´t interest her and hers don´t quite catch my full attention either. I have even thought of this to possibly be an obnoxious stage I´m going through, I am not happy with my know- it-all self.

    “You truly may be unique but alone, you are most likely going to wither.
    Surround yourself with those that can keep you in the right spirits.”

    This resonantes so profoundly in me! To ME, it says that it´s OK if I can´t have an engaging conversation with everyone I know, that having a FEW select people with whom I can have meaningful, interesting conversations is enough.

    I truly enjoyed this blog post which you can see from the length of my comment, sorry! You tapped directly into one of my many unresolved ISSUES…Thank you Teecee read you soon, Alexandra

    • This particular comment seemed to have skipped my attention for a long while. Uniqueness is genius, especially when developed into refined skill. Skills are acts which are performed at a high level of proficiency. Identifying your uniqueness and developing it into a highly relevant skill will require a lot of wisdom, especially since our family members and the society at large, are stuck to conventional ways of doing things. A genius breaks records and beats the standards. Geniuses don’t conform to norm but they produce exceptional results. Remember, “it takes great skill and talent to conceal great skill and talent”. Create the most condusive environment to harness the potentials in your uniqueness without depriving others of the freedom to express their own uniqueness. Be bold and confident. Have no doubt. It’s not wrong to be unique, just be true to yourself. I’m glad you shared this. 🙂

      • Thank you for your advice! Now that’ve I’ve gone back to work, I’ve been reunited with my fellow teachers and like-minded souls which are giving me moments of the most joyous conversations, food for the mind and soul… Read you soon Teecee, Alexandra

  2. Johnson says:

    This is an awesome post! A lot of truths here, alongside wise counsels, here. Thanks for putting this together TC.

  3. Pingback: THINK…The Stranded Genius by Nnamonu Tochukwu. Teecee. | ACT. REACT. or just THINK about it!

  4. Teecee, I quoted a small part of this wonderful post to make a perfect pairing with a lovely image… here’s the link http://wp.me/p1O652-AG , hope you can click on over and enjoy it!!

    • Thank you very much for another unexpected gift of yours. This beautiful combination of words and images that you always do, appeals to me in a special way. It brings the message to heart with a special feeling. I sincerely appreciate your thoughtfulness. You are unique!

Leave a Reply

