A Plea To Be Heard

Hear me out

A PLEA TO BE HEARD

How sad it feels to be deprived of the chance to express oneself.
How disturbing it could be to watch someone draw a conclusion about you that is not true.
We may make mistakes,
Facts may have created appearances,
But the truth remains the truth.
I may have failed a couple of math examinations, but that didn’t stop me from making a distinction when it mattered most.
I may have stepped into certain environments as the least qualified, but it never stopped me from distinguishing myself with excellence.
It hurts to have a lot to share, but to be shunned or intimidated into silence, and worse off, to be tagged something that you are not.
The fact that I may have refused to do something out of justifiable fear, does not mean that I cannot do it.
The fact that I stop certain operations as a precautionary measure does not make me incapable of leading a team.
It is good to be daring, but beyond a certain point, it becomes stupidity.
Why would I lead a team beyond the limits of safety?
Why incur costs and loss that could simply be avoided by caution.
Why conclude that I am incapable, when you would have suffered severely if I tried to please the crowd?
Who wouldn’t get tensed when there is pressure from everyone else to ignore the stipulated codes and sacrifice safety for excitement?
I may have initiated the operations hastily and nobody may have objected, but that wouldn’t stop me from choosing reason over popular opinion.
In a state of intense tension, retreating is more rational than another hasty alternative. After all, prevention is better than cure.
Will alienating me from the team prevent similar situations from coming up in future?
Will decamping to another team alienate occasional challenges?
Experience accumulates in working together as a team.
Why seek relief outside, at the expense of all that we have painstakingly built together?
Why shut me out and keep me in the dark?
Put yourself in my shoes; aren’t we psychological beings?
Can’t you get nervous out of tension or be momentarily faced with indecision?
Can’t you jump off in fright or be paralyzed with shock?
If machines can malfunction, why will a man’s inexperience be the reason to label him incapable?
Which manager did not pass through a process?
It is better that we grow together than giving away all that we have labored for to hire an expert to come and take all the glory.
I accept my mistake, please don’t bench me.
I am sincerely sorry, please forgive me.
I only need a chance to express myself to you, please don’t shut me out.
If really we are in this together, don’t leave me out here all alone.
Without either of us, there is no team, and without you, I can’t be my best.
Come back and together we can convince the rest.
Give me this chance to express myself and we can be on our feet again.
A couple of fails does not make me a failure.
It is still you who can bring out the best in me.
Don’t leave your doors shut against me.
Please hear me out!

Nnamonu Tochukwu.
A Plea To Be Heard.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Plea To Be Heard

  1. Teecee, this is heartfelt.

  2. I tried to phone you Son but could not make connection. you sound so upset, I hope your better now and you feel at Peace.

    Christian Love – Anne

Leave a Reply

