Money: If You Miss The Bus, Don’t Miss The Plane.

You might just be wondering why the title is not the other round.
It’s simple. I was with a very good friend who had to submit some assignments before taking a trip. Submitting the assignment meant that she would be at her school around the regular time that buses take of for the destination of her intended trip and proceed with the trip afterwards.
I stood by her as she went through the rigors of completing the assignment. I also went along with her to the school to make the submission. Upon arrival, we discovered that submission of the same assignment had been postponed by one week. This was interesting, although a little bit annoying.
It was then time for her to pack her bags and head to the park where she would make the trip from. I left her to go home and pick up her bags for the trip, while I went to see to other pressing matters. By the time she called me on the phone to tell me that she had concluded packing, she had so much uncertainty in her voice, as to whether she would still meet a bus headed for her destination. I encouraged her to head to the park where buses load for the trip first. She did, and she called to let me know that all the buses were gone.
As is my usual way of doing things, I asked her to exhaust all the alternatives before giving up and she promised to do so.
Shortly, her call came in. She had found a mini bus that costs a little more than the originally intended bus, and they were waiting for sufficient passengers to fill up the bus. She described the location to me and I decided to locate her. If not for anything, for a parting hug.
I found her, and ofcourse she was so excited about the fact that there was still a bus for her. She was confident that even if she arrives at her destination late in the night, she would be able to comfortably walk to a habitable home around where she would alight from the bus.
In the midst of the excitement, I teased; “If you missed the last bus, I would have put you on the next flight”. She laughed hysterically, and ofcourse I laughed with her.
She then said; “I wouldn’t want to fly alone on my first flight”. Those words touched me. Very many people attach sentiments to flying. Maybe it’s for a certain class and maybe it’s very expensive, but her response showed me that she had an idea or a perspective that her first flight is worth sharing with someone dear.
I’ve been on the plane a couple times and I remember they were both with my mum.
I really might have put her on the plane if she had missed the bus, but my thoughts began new explorations. I asked myself questions like; “why won’t people ordinarily take a plane when they miss the buses? Why is it that some people never get to enter a plane all their lives? Why won’t some class of people make taking a plane to be their first choice?”.
The bulk of the answer to these questions center around money.
The bus fare is cheaper than the plane ticket and that automatically increases it’s demand.
If we thought more about expanding our finances than economising what we have, we would succeed.
Concerning money, people tend to do the bulk of their calculations around conserving it rather than multiplying it.
How often do we think of trying out something new that could generate fresh money?
But I can bet that we often think about how to accomplish tasks with less funds.
It’s not an offence to conserve money, but it is much more satisfying to grow it.
How can one who missed a bus afford a flight ticket?
How often does flying cross your mind?
Are you always bothered about how expensive things are?
Do you think that maintaining the same income will afford you your dreams?
Is the disparity between travelling by bus and travelling by plane so much?
Is money the only fear you have in that regard or is there something else?
Maybe I’m just thinking out loud or spurring you up to think about what you are focusing on.
Are you focusing on creating new opportunities or on maximizing the old opportunities?
In as much as both are important, if you must change your results, it is only logical that your process must change.
If you must afford more expensive items and certain luxuries, then you must increase your financial capacity.
If all your savings are used up on buying new luxury items and paying accumulated bills, how will you grow your finances?
Opportunities lurk around, and some of them can only be grabbed if money is available.
How much money do you have as reserve to seize such opportunities?
Sometimes, emergencies spring up that require money. How often can you handle such without having to borrow?
If really you have a very important trip and you miss all the buses, can you really afford to take the plane?
Money might be as important as you think it is, but it is not really how we get it that determines whether we are rich or poor, but how we spend it.
If we spend it on impressing people all around us, we might just be missing the point, but if we spend it on accumulating assets and setting up systems that will generate more money for us, then we might just be setting up a perpetual loop of wealth.
Do you want to be rich?
Whether you travel by plane or by bus does not determine whether you are rich or poor.
The rich man is not necessarily the man that earns more money, he is just the man that consistently has fewer needs than his income can cover.
Don’t let so many needs drive you, not all of the things we consider important are as important as they appear.
It is more important to think than to act.
It is also more important to respond than to react.
Desperate circumstances may require desperate measures, but the more deliberate and intentional our actions are, the more measurable or examinable our results will be.
Think about the bus and the plane.
Also think about how you spend your money and how you can make it grow.
If I did not make any point, I only hope that atleast, I got you thinking.
Make better decisions, henceforth.
Be wise and be guided.

Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teecee.
Money: If You Miss The Bus, Don’t Miss The Plane.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Money: If You Miss The Bus, Don’t Miss The Plane.

  1. “The rich man is not necessarily the man that earns more money, he is just the man that consistently has fewer needs than his income can cover.” this is good!! here’s another one: IF YOU WANT TO KNOW HOW RICH YOU ARE, FIND OUT HOW MANY THINGS YOU HAVE THAT MONEY CAN’T BUY… so bus or plane matter less when what she had as a constant was your friendship through out this complicated situation… big hug my dear friend, alexandra

    • My friend, we’ve really got things that money can’t buy, and friendship is one of them.
      You always have an awesome perspective, and that makes me feel so good.
      Having a friend like you already makes me rich.
      My dear, it really doesn’t matter whether the trip is made by bus or plane when there is a friend by you.
      Now I’m considering new thoughts on friendship.
      Thanks for you unique and relevant words.
      Best regards to family.

  2. Good to see you Blogging again Son, it’s been a long time and I have missed you, I was going to phone but I had to change my Provider again and right now I have no overseas cover on my phone but I did pray for your well being and your friends.

    Money to me is a necessity not a goal, to explain further, perhaps you would like to see this Power point I created, it sums up my focus well and will save detail here.

    Money – http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2011/11/18/money-money-money/

    Christian Love in Unity with Christ Jesus – Anne (Grannie Annie )

    • I have viewed your awesome slides, Grannie Annie, and I am still excited about them.
      Money can really be a distraction from the real thing.
      “Money may buy position, but not respect”.
      Wow!
      You really made some huge and relevant points!
      I’m excited to know that you had me in your prayers. I sure missed you as much as you missed me.
      Best regards to Ron.
      You both mean so much to me.
      Thanks for stopping by.

      • Thank you for your words of encouragement Son and as I shared on our Blog Son, I have great respect for you, your a very special Man, you seek Truth and this is a great heart focus but another thing I have noticed about you is you have a humble , gentle and kind spirit, I thank God our paths crossed and look forward to sharing again with you.

        Ron is very busy as always but with our Holidays not going as planned, we hope to have another one in May starting about the same time as our Anniversary, I’m looking forward to just relaxing and enjoying Ron’s company, I miss him greatly most of the time but appreciate his help when needed and his support with the Blog, posting his comments is often a blessing.

        Thanks again for your kind words Son, Christian Love from both of us – Grannie Annie

  3. Increase Okechukwu Divine-Wisdom says:

    Thought inspiring article. I definitely will not forget to take a flight when I miss the bus; and buy the airline if I ever miss a flight πŸ™‚

  4. That’s the spirit, my brother!
    You are precisely on point.
    Things can only get better with the right mindset.
    I love your awesome perspective!
    Thumbs up! πŸ™‚

  5. Great story, tip and advice. I made so many bad money choices in the past and still today pay for its effects. But we all learn and I hope I will be wiser next time. It helps to have a good family and friend that gives life saving advise in this world. Thanks and all the best!

    • I’m so glad you appreciate my thoughts, Island Traveler.
      Life is full of experiences and a variety of ideas; the more we share, the more we learn.
      I appreciate your thoughtful words, they are warm and encouraging.
      Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Well, you certainly chose the right title for your blog. I love it. I invite you to visit mine. Hugs, Barbara

  7. eurobrat says:

    Thanks for an inspiring blog. I have been trying to think of ways of both saving and growing my money πŸ™‚

  8. Powerfully said, Teecee. πŸ™‚

  9. Jane Thorne says:

    TCC good and thoughtful post. Money is an energy like everything else, is holds such fear of lack that we are tempted to mis-handle it, or not handle it at all…seeds grow, like your wise words. Have a lovely day. πŸ™‚

  10. The story was a good foundation for the financial planning you advise. Thanks visit my blog.

Leave a Reply

