Question: Which Is More Important; Why Or How?

Question: Which Is More Important; Why Or How?

Very often, we are encountered with opposing ideologies. Sometimes, the basis of conflict or disagreement hovers around either why or how something should be done.
I love to teach, and in my teaching, I love to let my students understand whatever concept it is that they have to learn, so that they would be able to respond with a solution even when unique problems arise.
Very recently, my younger brother, who I taught how to drive, was narrating to me how he used different unique maneuvers to drive a manual-transmission-gear car that had a faulty clutch. He also narrated how he could roll down a slope on neutral and be overtaking cars that were accelerating and putting their engines to hardwork.
His story simply emphasised my point that when the dynamics of a system is properly understood, it’s utilization becomes more handy.
Sometimes, sticking to cumbersome guidelines and procedures are very helpful for starters or beginners, but as people advance or progress, it is important that creativity comes into play to enhance productivity.

I would like you to consider this very important question: which is more important; why or how?

I sincerely believe that how a thing is done matters a lot, I also believe that why a thing is done has massive importance.
The issue at hand right now is: which is more important; why or how?

When families quarrel about greeting “good morning” in the morning, what is their point of argument?
It is funny to note that some parents may not have noticed the love in the hug that their child offers in the morning and is more bothered about the fact that the child did not greet in the exact way that they expected.
What is the difference between how we show appreciation and why we show appreciation?
Has it ever occured to you that people always pick on little issues.
Someone who should be excited at the fact that he/she is appreciated often turns around to pick on the fact that the appreciation could be better or that it wasn’t done in the proper way.
Why do we always conform to patterns?
Is it right to stick to things, just because they are generally accepted?
Are we supposed to continue with the way things are done or should we visit the reason behind our approach and figure out a way to improve?
When our actions are love driven, they may not be conventional, but they are often superior to the rehearsed methods.
When we speak from the heart, it may not be eloquent, but it will definitely be reliable.
When we face our fears, we may appear weak, but the truly brave person is one who faces his fears and overcomes them.
Pretending and telling lies may seem like a quick get away, but they only turn out to be traps.
Why do we do the things that we do?
Is it to create an impression or to prove a point?
I actually believe that “why” determines “how”.
If our intentions are genuine, we would be patient to do things right.
If we intend to empower everyone, we would not deprive people of their rights.
If we believe in integrity, we wouldn’t be saying something while meaning another.
If we truly love others as we love ourselves, we wouldn’t hoard opportunities that would benefit all, for only ourselves.
How we do things matter, yes it really does.
How we do things points to what drives us.
Why we do things matter even more, it determines how much we can endure and how far we can go.
What makes us insist on how things are done?
The answer should lie in “why”.
Why are we bothered about what people think of us?
Why is it that we often check how other people are doing their things before we determine whether or not to do what we consider right?
Which is more important than the other; why or how?
How things are done may differ from person to person.
A painter may paint the ground before painting the skies while another painter chooses to start with the skies.
Nothing makes one more right than the other.
A tractor operator may choose to start from one end to the other. It doesn’t make the other tractor operator who chooses to start from the opposing end to be an inferior operator.
At certain times, we impose our own ideologies on others, we insist on our own styles and consider other ideas inferior to ours.
Why do we do that?
Is that the best way to view life?
How can we make a difference?
What makes us insist on how things should be done?
Pondering on these things could equip us better for more effective leadership, management and relationships.
Everyone is unique and could come up with an entirely unique approach to doing things.
Allowing freedom of expression after a basic foundation has been given may open doors to more varieties.
I agree that there are many ways to kill a rat.
I agree that there may be both wrong and right ways.
But why doesn’t it always occur to us to ask; why kill the rat?
What’s the reason behind what you are doing?
You may be doing it just as well as others, but what’s the point if you don’t know why?
The moment you resolve why you should love, how to love will sieze to be an issue.
Do you really desire a positive change in your life?
That’s enough reason to make you consider both why you do the things you do and how you do them.

Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teecee.
Question: Which Is More Important; Why Or How?

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Question: Which Is More Important; Why Or How?

  1. Hi Son , there is only one Truth and that’s God’s but I agree with Him as you do, everyone has the right to believe what they want to but they will reap what they sow , as a man thinks in his heart so he does.

    God tells us to correct error and we are to do what He asks us to do but not just by what we think or what others say but by what God says as confirmed in Scripture. God tells us we are to have the same focus, meaning to be of the same mind and we will if we have the mind of Christ.

    I also do what God asks us to do, we are not to listen to criticism about others , slander and back- biting, if someone does not agree with what we share, and they think they have Scripture confirmation that we are in error, they need to come to us not run us down, if it’s personal and they are breaking a Trust, it shows their fallen character, Those who do slander and make up stories about others, are also just showing their own fear and insecurity, so as you said Son we move on and don’t let them bother us and if we have done it ourselves in the past we repent and say sorry.

    My Mother has had a stroke Son , I’m going to Sydney soon to see her , I’m staying down there for up to a month, I will be in touch when I get back, take care, I will miss you.

    Christian Love Always – Grannie Annie

    • Be strong, Grannie Annie.
      I will always pray for you.
      God is faithful, reliable and able.
      His thoughts for us are good. All things work together for the good of them that love God.
      God’s grace and mercy is able to restore your mum both back to health and back to faith.
      As believers, we trust God’s report. Our reason and our methods always originate from God’s word which is truth.
      God’s blessings make rich and adds no sorrow to it.
      Why we do the things and how we do the things we do, may simply be beyond reason because they emanate from hope, faith and love. For me, the only command and the most superior is the command to love.
      That love that is neither selfish nor keeps records of wrong.
      God is love.
      I appreciate your warm thoughts and I will miss you too.
      God makes all things beautiful in His time. I will be patient enough to await your testimonies.
      Thanks for stopping by, in spite of all the challenges.
      God’s grace will see you through.
      Regards to Ron.

  2. seeker says:

    When I am asked “why” I cannot really respond to that because a “why” question cannot be satisfied. Why is the sky blue? Why is the see green? Why is the earth round?

    In order for me to respond to it, I will say “I can’t answer why but I can find out WHAT it’s all about.

    • Very often, we just have to accept certain things by faith.
      We learn a lot by observing life.
      There is a way the maker does things. Aligning or appreciating things the way they are would actually eliminate a lot of frustration and heartbreak.
      When we expect answers that we cannot get, we get worn out fast.
      I appreciate your view; we can always find out what it’s all about.
      It’s good to have a driving force though.
      “Why” motivates us, you know?

  3. “If our intentions are genuine, we would be patient to do things right.”,”Allowing freedom of expression after a basic foundation has been given may open doors to more varieties.”, “You may be doing it just as well as others, but what’s the point if you don’t know why?” This quotes from your post speak to two important facets of the person I am: teacher and aspiring painter… However, one other quote: “Why do we always conform to patterns?” Speaks to me as a mother, here’s a task where I essentially conform to patterns, the patterns I was raised under, the patterns that were defined based on our core family values and beliefs, here I don’t care to try out new ways, though situations arise where certain adjustments are needed…. Beliefs and values are my why and how in motherhood, though I do leave space for creativity and freedom of expression… Great post my dear friend, as always a joy to read you, Alexandra

  4. Very lovely points, Alexandra!
    Beliefs and values are the most important reasons for decisions.
    The reason we either find things worthy or unworthy springs from what we believe.
    Certain values cannot be played with or used for experimentation because they are what defines us.
    I am glad to know that you are able to strike the appropriate balance.
    It’s always exciting to hear from you, my friend.
    Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

