Why Pray? What Prayer Does For Me

Have you considered what it means to pray?

What my own prayer does for me:
-it drives my fears away from me
-it helps me stand when others fall
-it gives me hope when hope is lost
-with God all things are possible.

In my opinion, there’s a huge difference between spirituality and religiousity. The way we look at prayer goes a long way to determine whether we are just being religous or whether we are spiritual.
I may not be an authority, but I sure have an opinion.
My opinion may be personal, but I don’t mind sharing it today.

Prayer helps me love when there is no reason to.
Prayer enables me to carry on even when there are no immediate returns.
Prayer is neither for competition nor comparison.
Prayer is not necessarily those long words mumbled while kneeling or standing in the congregation.
Prayer is a heartfelt search for answers and solutions.
Prayer opens doors for revelation.
Prayer brings us into an awareness.
True prayer is backed up with results and not an applause.
I seek strength through prayer and neither a commendation nor a justification from men.
Unless you are aware of your need for prayer, you will never learn to pray.
A man’s manifestation of results may not be seperable from his prayers.
Prayer may not necessarily be physical.
Prayer, in my opinion, distinguishes the spiritual from the religious.
Prayer is from the heart.
Prayer is in the heart.
True prayer may not be seen by others.
A prayer may just be a declaration of faith, it could also be a deep longing for intervention from beyond you.
You can pray all you can, but you don’t have to judge me by your standards.
You may think that you don’t pray, but I can bet that those moments of sober reflection or concrete resolve that made remarkable impact in your life are also prayers.
You may just have some other name for the word but you sure pray and you need to always pray.
Prayer brings conviction.
A spiritual man is a convicted man.
A convicted man is resolute and such resolve is necessary for the dicipline and order that is required to make a difference.
What is your conviction about prayer?

Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teecee.
Why Pray? What Prayer Does For Me

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why Pray? What Prayer Does For Me

  1. That was so wonderful Son, what can I add… True prayer is joining in The heart of God and yes we can do this driving a car, or on a Mobility Scooter like I do but perhaps not with my eyes closed. Like you Son, I believe there are different ways to pray, sharing of His Love or singing to The Lord is also prayer and writing about Him in heart words, or Thanking Him in Joy when we see the awesomeness and beauty of His creation or smell the fragrance of a flower or when we have a child tell us that they Love us or when someone walks into our heart even though we have never met them face to face because he lives in Nigeria and yet he calls you Grannie Annie, and tells you your special, we have so much to give thanks for, how blessed we are.

    I’m sure you will be blessed Son if you read my last Reblog, I was very much so, we have an Awesome God and yes He is very, very good and Loves us greatly.

    Christian Love from both of us – Grannie Annie

    Thank you dear Heavenly Father for the blessing of Teeceecounsel.

  2. seeker says:

    The ultimate goal for me is that prayers will bring me closer to my personal God and be one with God.

  3. “A prayer may just be a declaration of faith, it could also be a deep longing for intervention from beyond you.” My friend, you know you are always quotable! Yes, prayer is asking for help from above, prayer, to me, is surrender… Surrendering to the only right way when i have tried the human way… I loved this 🙂 thank you, Alexandra

  4. Pingback: Could it be? | andyoungblood

Leave a Reply

