Haiku: Electricity

This Haiku was generated in response to Daily Prompt: The Little Things; “Describe a little thing — one of the things you love that defines your world but is often overlooked.”
For me, it’s electricity and all the electronic gadgets that it powers. Sometimes, we never know how attached we are to electricity till there’s a storm that causes a blackout. My response to the prompt is with a Haiku.

Haiku

Electricity

One long blackout,
battery power runs out.
Electricity means much!

Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teecee.
Haiku: Electricity

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Haiku: Electricity

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s Those Little Things I Appreciate | My Daily Prompt Blog

  2. Pingback: Aunt Sadie’s Locket (Short story) | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: Small But Meaningful | Edward Hotspur

  4. Pingback: The Little Things – Daily Prompt | Lyrical Anarchy

  5. Pingback: Friday Ficlet/Fragment – Words, Words, Words | Tommia's Tablet

  6. Teecee, your haiku is spot on for me here in Ghana where electricity is a luxury. Power rationing is such a nuisance in all aspects and that is an understatement.

    • I know what you mean, dear. We just keep hoping that we will pass this phase. Blackouts are common in Nigeria. There doesn’t have to be a storm. It’s gonna be fine someday! Thanks!

      • Freedomborn says:

        Hi Son, perhaps you would like to share with me what Haiku is to you in general and where does this word originate from, I have heard a few understandings on the Blogs.

        Electricity, the real source never really stops, it can be disconnected but it travels indefinitely like our spirits, they also cannot be extinguished but our soul can be destroyed. Eternity in Hell will be populated by dead life, those who are Spiritually dead meaning without the Holy Spirit. Jesus Christ restores our soul on earth, His death paid for it, He redeemed us fully but our soul cannot be brought back from Hell because the Chasm is closed for all Eternity. Holiness and evil cannot co- exist. We have much more than one chance on earth to be saved but when this passage in this life is over, we have no more Hope if we have chosen the way and focus of the world, lets choose wisely now.

        Psalm 72:12 -14 For he shall deliver the needy when he crieth; the poor also, and him that hath no helper. He shall spare the poor and needy, and shall save the souls of the needy. He shall redeem their soul from deceit and violence: and precious shall their blood be in His sight.

        Mark 8:36 For what shall it profit a man, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul?

        Matthew 10:27-28 What I tell you in darkness, that speak ye in light: and what ye hear in the ear, that preach ye upon the housetops. And fear not them which kill the body, but are not able to kill the soul: but rather fear him which is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.

        Christian Love Always from both of us – Grannie Annie.

      • Granny, a Haiku is a Japanese poem of 17 syllables. It’s a beautiful way to express thoughts concisely. I’ve been quite busy lately and have been resorting to rather short thoughts. Physically speaking, you know, communication and connections often get paralyzed when there is a power failure, but with electricity, a whole lot of things run smoothly. Your words always speak volumes, especially as they are from scriptures.
        “I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”
        -John 15:5.
        The only connection that really sustains and gives the ability to produce results is God.
        Thanks for always stopping by and regards to Ron.

  7. Thank you Son for explaining, God often speaks to me in my heart with much more than 17 syllables and I hate to interrupt, it is so good. Just imagine if Haiku had been used for the Scriptures …it seems many want short and sweet today like their coffee, they don’t want to wait till it’s percolated they just want instant but detail is often needed, that is why we have the Bible, we needed detail, if we short circuited it we would have loose wiring in other words we need detail to have a strong foundation.

    Take Care and thanks for caring – Christian Love – Granny Annie

    • God’s word is much more than details of explanations and instructions. It is spirit and it is life.
      It might be just a word that would make an impact in one situation while it may be numerous sentences that would make a point to one person.
      People differ.
      What is most important is faith and obedience.
      Samuel said to Saul, “Obedience is better than sacrifice”.
      For me, awareness is more important than stories.
      Experience is more tangible than explanations.
      Jesus said, “in the begining was the word, the word was with God and the word was God.”
      I would prefer to experience God, than to be bombarded with heaps of words.
      The experience can then be described, either in detail or in a few syllables.
      We can express our thoughts and experiences as would be appealing and effective in the circumstances that we find ourselves.
      No wonder the English man could even say; “a word is enough for the wise.”
      Luvyu, Grannie Annie. God bless you!
      Regards to Ron.

      • Hi Son, it is True, God tells us many word’s wearies the soul but He is talking about empty words, like worldly knowledge and study, we are to hang onto all His words, they are Gold, they are our nourishment, our Spiritual food, He inspired them but we need His eyes to see and ears to hear and we can only have them if we read with our heart, and as you shared by the empowering of The Holy Spirit and having asked for and received Godly wisdom, we can understand God’s Truth and then apply it to our lives, God’s detail is His foundation, in it is the fullness of Life.

        I do word searches with a Bible tool because I find one word is not enough, I need detail to fully convey God’s Truth and help others do so too. An English man may need only one word and if that is so, to me it would be Love and because I Love God I want to hear all His words, why do you think I follow your Blog Son, it is because I want to hear your heart speak, your words are never too many for me because I Love you in The Lord – Grannie Annie.

      • Grannie Annie! This response just earned you a standing ovation! Even though I was alone, standing and clapping in my room, the ovation was worth much more than the applause of a million people in a massive auditorium.
        Words really mean much, and these your few words got to my heart.
        Thanks for holding me in high esteem.
        I appreciate you for who you are.
        God has given you a wonderful heart and a tremendously creative head.
        I love you in the Lord too, Grannie.
        Thanks once again! 🙂

  8. You are special to me Son and always will be, there is a word that explains who you are to me and that is GIFT, Thank you dear one.

    Christian Love Always – Grannie Annie

    • What can I say, Grannie Annie?
      Your words are few, but mighty!
      Thank you.
      “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” (James 1:17).
      You are blessed.
      Regards to Ron!

Leave a Reply

