Sms: Friend, Be True To Yourself

Sms

Friend, Be True To Yourself

My friend,
in all honesty, it is tempting to attract the crowd but experience has thought me that fulfilment is better than fame and contentment more honourable than a popular name.
One faithful friend that you can confide in is more valuable than a thousand fans that don’t care.
Be true to yourself!
-Teecee.

Nnamonu Tochukwu.
A short message or an sms to encourage a friend to stay true to the values that matter most. Following trendy things may attract the crowd and amass fame or wealth, but peace of mind, happiness and fulfilment matters most in the long run.
This post was inspired by Daily Prompt: Personal Space, asking the question; “To what extent is your blog a place for your own self-expression and creativity vs. a site designed to attract readers? How do you balance that? If sticking to certain topics and types of posts meant your readership would triple, would you do it?”.
You can draw an inference from my message or sms.
The balance is simply where my own true values are not jeopardized for number or figures. Attracting traffic to my blog may be very enticing, but not at the expense of my true values.
That would simply be a misplacement of priority.
What’s your own stand on the subject?
Be true to yourself!
Sms: Friend, Be True To Yourself

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Sms: Friend, Be True To Yourself

  1. Pingback: Mischief Managed | Tommia's Tablet

  2. Java Girl says:

    I agree with this statement. Staying true to myself has always been my motto. If you can’t be true to yourself, then how will you be true to others? Change and development begins with oneself before you are able to give your best and all to the world. I think it also has to do with how well you know yourself and how comfortable you feel with life. If I were stressed out because I wasn’t getting 5,000 hits a day, then who am I trying to please? The masses who don’t know me personally? The masses who will never ask how my day is? I value anyone who takes the time to post a comment on my blog, replies to me on twitter and sends me an email on FB than to have 90,000 subscribers. Great post my friend!!

    • Being true to oneself is the very first step to self discovery. One who cannot sincerely carryout a self examination but gives excuses and lives in pretence would not be able to make a difference.
      There is a whole lot of pressure when we try to please people or when we try to manipulate our results.
      Like you rightly pointed, those who we can relate with personally, who can tell where it pinches us and who we can confide in, are those that make life beautiful for us.
      Thanks much for stopping by and bringing excitement to my heart! πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Personal Space | Infinitely

  4. Pingback: Daily Promt: Personal Space « Mama Bear Musings

  5. thompson says:

    it takes maturity to realize dat wat counts in life is not fame, popularity or amassing friends, but to Av real friends, b principled n live by ur convictions. n letting who wants to walk walk. in life uv gat to grow or groan. it’s as simple as dat. it’s only as u grow dat u realize wat u want r real friends n not sycophants/fans. values n principles to lean on n not ppl pleasing! Maturity is d main thing! GROW UP OR GROAN!

    • You are right on point, Thompson! It takes maturity to have certain realisations in life.
      One true friend is much more valuable than a pack of excited people that don’t even have the slightest idea of what is driving them.
      I enjoyed your perspective so much, it shows maturity and experience.
      The trivial many should not distract us from the vital few. Thanks for stopping by with your very insightful words!

  6. Pingback: The Contents of Stuphβ„’ | Stuphblog

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: My Blogs as Personal or Public Space. | My Daily Prompt Blog

  8. I was always such a people-pleaser that I was rarely true to myself. A few years ago, I flipped that switch. Oddly many of my so-called friends disappeared, but I am a lot happier. I guess I didn’t need them the way I thought I did. Being me all the time is so much better!!

    • I’m glad you flipped that switch. Being happy is not dependent on a third party and we don’t necessarily need anybody that requires us to loose our personalities or values before we can please them. Life is beautiful when we optimize ourselves to meet our own ideals and not struggle with the trends to break even with the rest of the world. We are unique and our uniqueness distinguishes us!
      Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

  9. Pingback: Why I write? Why I share? [My personal Space] | 3rdculturechildren

  10. Mary Okeke says:

    Thanks a bunch for posting this! Good day!

  11. I can’t not be true to myself…I can’t fake a smile, I can’t even fake interest…small talk seems fake to me…so blogging for numbers is the equivalent of small talk…can’t do it!! I prefer silence than trying to squeaze a readable post out of my brain… numbers are an indicator but comments are the real connection, small talk blogging won’t get an interesting conversation going… right my friend? no small talk here πŸ™‚ read you soon, Alexandra

    • Right, my friend.
      Very well said. The value of interaction far outweighs that of attraction. It’s okay to attract a crowd, but not at the expense of one’s uniqueness and originality.
      If you attract a crowd just by being yourself, you are sure to keep them without looking for trends to imitate. On the other hand, if you manipulate to get a crowd, you’ll just have to keep manipulating or you’ll loose them.
      Nice thoughts, friend! πŸ™‚

  12. cobbies69 says:

    Never a truer set of words,, thank you enjoyed it..;)

  13. Such powerful message, thank you for sharing! God Bless

  14. Pingback: A CORINTHIANS KIND OF LOVE | hastywords

  15. Pingback: Personal Space | planningforaccidents

  16. Pingback: Personal Space | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

