Naija Slangs: Broken Or Pigeon English

Weekly Writing Challenge: A Manner of Speaking“, has prompted me to try my hands on what we call Broken or Pigeon English in Nigeria.
It’s a language of it’s own or should I say; a manner of speaking. Don’t panic if you don’t understand. I just want you to enjoy the fact that English words could be arranged in such a way that it would make so much meaning to one person and not even make a single bit of sense to another person. Such an interesting manner of speaking.
This is for your enjoyment. Try to give it an interpretation if you can.

Abeg, no vex.
If I yarn for we stlyle, na una go tire.
We fit dey call am pigeon for here, una fit dey call am slang for there, yet nothing do you.
My yarns ressemble English, but if we no call am pigeon English, na broken we dey call am.
I be Naija boy, na so we dey call ourself.
People wey never know wettin dey, fit dey call us Nigerians but nothing spoil, all still join.
Plenty slangs still dey wey dey vary from area to area.
This one no even carry slangs, na just yarns be this.
Wettin matter be say you dey speak the one wey your paddy dey understand, make homies fit dey comfortable.
Make I stop here before confusion go dey rampart.
If you dey feel me, abeg say “yeh”.
You too much!

Thanks for feeding your eyes patiently.
Can you make any meaning out of it?
If you give it so much thought and you still can’t figure out anything, just ask a Nigerian.
Smiles!
Ask your questions freely, I’ll answer.

Naija Slangs: Broken Or Pigeon English

Related Post:

Pidgin English

Do good to checkout other responses at Weekly Writing Challenge: A Manner of Speaking

See also: Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction

Naija Slangs: Broken Or Pigeon English

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Naija Slangs: Broken Or Pigeon English

  1. boomiebol says:

    You try well well πŸ™‚

  2. cobbies69 says:

    I bet this is harder to write than speak… πŸ˜‰ smiling you trying…

  3. festivalking says:

    Brosyaaaa! na so e be o! To dey knack dis kind yanz for writing so no be small thing… but as you talk am sha, notin do you.

    I done rate this piece “TB” … TOH-BAHD!!!! πŸ˜‰

    • Confirm! I feel your yarns die. Na true you talk, to write this kind thing no be beans. This your rating make better sense. The concept gather swag sef. Check am nah? “TB”. No be small thing jare. Na you try pass! πŸ™‚

  4. Mary Okeke says:

    Na wa ooo .. you dey try small small…LOL.. e no easy ooo

  5. Wow! I have no idea what you just wrote but it sounds (in my head) so cool, of course hearing it from a native speaker must be a phonetic joy! πŸ™‚

    • Smiles! That’s the beauty of language. Did you take a look at the bulk of the comments? Those who understand can easily join the flow.
      It sounds cool like you rightly said, someday you’ll hear it out.
      I’m glad you’re back to the blogosphere. If nobodyelse missed you, I did. Welcome! πŸ™‚

      • You are soooo sweet, thank you my dear friend! If you have time, check out my recent post to get the details of my MIA… I LOVED the comments, it’s like a whole other language, it has a very cool flow, I don’t mind not understanding, just reading it and trying to get an idea is quite fun

      • I’ll soon checkout your recent post, my friend. Thank you for sharing the way you feel about this. Interestingly, Pigeon English seems quite popular on the internet. It’s some casual way of communicating in Naija! I’m glad you like it. πŸ™‚

  6. Irene Mejer says:

    I tried to decipher – i think i understood only two. πŸ™‚ interesting that it is called Pigeon English too, thanks for sharing this. Keep it up!

  7. Pingback: I Speak In Song Titles | Cheri Speak

  8. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: “Yo Falo PortuΓ±ol [and Spanglish!]“ | 3rdculturechildren

  9. Pingback: The Story of The Lance | The Life Nomadik

Leave a Reply

