Phone Calls: Unexpected Caller, Ringing and Unknown Numbers

This could sound like fiction, but bet me, it is not.
My phone rang today and it was an unknown caller.
This was the second time I was receiving a call from an undisclosed identity caller.
Ofcourse the first call did not last long because I was obviously not falling prey to the prank that the caller had in mind.
But the second call? Wow! It was mind blowing.
I’m sure you won’t guess right if I leave the caller’s identity to your imagination, except you are the caller yourself.
I love to share stories like this in detail, so I guess it would be better to begin at the beginning and end at the end.

My day started like every other day. I was up early enough to report at the office before 7:30am. I signed in at 7:24. I checked through my to do list and considered my prospective customers. I do some sort of marketing, so it’s important to start with a plan, else the day may be ruined on frivolities.
I decided to replace my waist belt, which had yielded to stress at the joint that hinges the fancy portion of the head to the embeded clip that grips the leather portion. My belt is made up of a black leather strap that is carefully attached into a silver coloured metal head and firmly gripped by some sort of embeded clip. The belt is engaged by sliping a pin attached to the metal head into a hole on the leather portion that matches the desired width.
A portion of the metal head had broken, leaving the portion with a clip firmly gripping the leather and the fancy portion of the metal head dangling freely. The belt had obviously lost it’s functionality and I was not willing to face the entire day with such an unnecessary concern as helping my trousers stay on my waist with my hands.
I had figured out two alternatives; the first was to get a replacement head, detach the damaged one and attach the replacement while the second alternative was to change the belt entirely.
Soon I was in the market, profiling belt sellers to identify potential prospects that could patronize my products. Remember I was supposed to be marketing. One could not make me loose sight of the other.
Smiles.
While negociating the price for a replacement head, I began marketing the products and services that I was employed to offer.
Quite at the peak of our negociations, my phone began to ring. I looked at the screen and all I could see was “private no.”
Usually some people intentionally hide their numbers to avoid disclosing their identities while some are automatically hidden especially when the call is from a foreign country.
Well, I picked the call and I heard a man’s voice with a deep Yoruba Nigerian accent speaking English. He said “Hello, how are you and how is the country?”. I responded; “I am fine, thank you. Please who is on the line?”. He replied; “Can’t you recognize my voice? I am calling from abroad”. I was already familiar with similar patterns of fraudulent calls and could readily identify this call as one of such, so I quickly asked; “where precisely are you calling from?”. He responded; “you have not recognized my voice? I’m calling from Europe”. I answered; “which country were you asking me about when you first said hello?”. The line went dead. Ofcourse he immediately cut the call. I didn’t bother for a second about the unknown caller.
I switched back to my combined price negociation of belt replacement head and marketing.
Soon my phone rang again. This time it was a familiar number. My fashion designer had completed a customized body-fitted shirt for me and had asked me to pick it up anytime from Saturday. He had missed my calls and was returning the call. I agreed to pick up the shirt in about 45 minutes time from his house. I quickly concluded my bargain on the belt replacement head, exchanged contacts to retain prospective customer and moved on to meet my designer before he leaves for his next appointment.
I was soon at his house and had tried out my new customized shirt. It was great. We talked for a while before he offered me tea and you can guess? I did not decline.
Somewhere in the middle of the tea and some conversation, my phone began to ring. It turned out to be the second unknown caller.
Just like the first call from an unknown number, “Private no.” was all I could see on the screen. I sincerely did not know what to think, so I raised a finger, signifying a polite excuse from the conversation with my designer and I picked the call.
The accent this time was foreign, the voice was that of a lady and even though I could not pick out the first words I heared, I just felt that they were sweet.
By the time I could pick out some words, I heared “Teeceecounsel”. Ofcourse I gladly owned up and every single word that rolled into my ear added a smile to my face.
The unknown caller turned out to be a friend from the blogosphere, specially expressing appreciation.
I still have not recovered from the excitement. Today just seems to be the best day ever. The call was from an unexpected person and I did not see it coming. What a pleasant surprise!
I never gave a thought to sharing the experience, but wordpress seemed to have been thinking ahead of me.
Today’s daily prompt said; “You receive a call from an unexpected person. Who is it, and what is the conversation about? Go!”
Why on earth would I not go?
Have you had an experience with an unexpected caller?
You can see other people’s responses to the prompt: Daily Prompt: Unknown Caller

Teecee.
Phone Calls: Unexpected Caller, Ringing and Unknown Numbers

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Phone Calls: Unexpected Caller, Ringing and Unknown Numbers

  1. Pingback: The Phone That Never Rings | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Unknown Caller | life n me!

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt ~ Unknown Caller | Letters From Lotus Land

  4. Freedomborn says:

    Hi teeceecounsel, you sure keep busy throughout the day but you seem to handle things well, it’s good to enjoy your work.

    How wonderful that you were so touched and thankful for your unexpected caller, I’m sure she was just as excited to talk to you as you were to hear her, perhaps this lady had been looking forward to speaking to you for some time because she is so blessed by your messages and feels your a very special young man with faith and integrity and knowing you, no doubt you always treat her with respect and kindness and respond to her comments in a way that makes her always feel wanted and a person of worth, it’s so good you made contact..

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    P.S It was so wonderful hearing your voice teeceecounsel, I’m still excited too!

    • What can I say, Grannie Annie?
      She was so awesome and she took me by surprise. I still have not figured out what I did to deserve the kind of appreciation I received. I’m so grateful and touched by the confidence she has in me and the way she perceives me…
      By the way, your voice is still so smooth, fresh and lovely. How would I have imagined that it was Grannie speaking? 🙂
      I could have mistaken you for a cute teenager if you had not introduced yourself.
      I feel so honoured and I must confess, it was exciting speaking with you.
      Regards to Ron!

      • I feel so honoured and I must confess, it was exciting speaking with you teeceecounsel too and you have continued to give me much joy by your appreciation of my phone call, thank you Son.

        1 Timothy 5 :5 Rebuke not an elder, but intreat him as a father; and the younger men as brethren; The elder women as mothers; the younger as sisters, with all purity.

        teeceecounsel when I first saw your Gravatar photo, I was amazed at your eyes they are so full of kindness, thank you for sharing this and thank you also that it flows from your heart in words and actions, perhaps this is why when your focus is on the Lord. your words are so full of His wisdom as you reflect His Love in kindness to others..

        Christian Love Always – Grannie Annie

      • You are always welcome, Grannie Annie. Your words are always edifying and refreshing. You stand out in so many ways and you are worth emulating in so many things. Your humility is phenomenal, your patience is enduring and your precision is amazing. You treat each person with regard and value for uniqueness. You never fail to show appreciation. I may not have met you in person but I can tell that God has turned you into a beauty to behold and a model to emulate.
        I learn a lot from you and I admire your passion to share the things you believe. I know that as God keeps increasing you, you’ll keep doing more.
        Thanks for making me feel like a special son.
        Regards to Ron.

  5. This was fun to read! What a wonderful surprise to receive a phone call from a blogging friend… The not-so-unknown caller! Read you soon my friend, Alexandra

    • I’m sure you can imagine how I felt, my friend!
      I still feel on top of the world! 🙂
      A call from a blogging friend? It was quite a surprise.
      Thanks for sharing in my joy! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Who The Hell Is This? – Daily Prompt | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

