Companionship: She Was Sweet

The Person, The Place and The Thing!

Her name is sweet, she looks sweet and her comportment has always been as sweet as her sweet name, ever since she began being sweet.
Her looks are elegant, her words are seasoned with sweet spices, her steps are graced with grandeur. That’s just the way I’ve known her to be.
Today seems different! She must have been upset. Something makes her seem so human. Her beautiful low-cut hair seems to be covered with a wig. Her charming beauty seems to be covered with a veil. Her calm temper has also been heated up. She has not just lost her hospitality, she seems to have gone hostile!
Everybody tried to convince her to join the only available ride home, but she wouldn’t listen. “leave me alone” she says, “can’t you just let me be?”
It had become obvious that she would be left alone and it had also dawned on me that she would definitely be stranded and scared when the jungle matures. I could not stand leaving her alone to join the only available ride home and I was fully aware that the next ride would take ages to arrive. Every route to our location was blocked by a traffic jam.
I watched her stern face and I observed her pale green long-sleeved top. She was looking so casual on her blue jean and flat shoes. How could she have turned so human?
Her words were clear and loud when I let the ride go without me; “I want my space, just go. Leave me alone, follow them!”. I was determined to allow her the space she wanted, but I had also resolved to be by her when the chips would be down.

It was a construction site, pillars were still in the process of being erected, gates were being mounted, but everybody had gone. She was sitted alone on one of the openings created for window installation along a curved wall. I was perched on another window aperture, ensuring that I neither made noise nor made any movement that could catch her gaze. The site had no gate and no part of the building had been roofed. Cement bags, rods, gravel and sand were our only companions. She was alone in her open closet, while I was alone, just being sure that nothing happened to her.
Darkness was fast coming and I did not know how long it would take her to put herself together or to even seek to know my whereabout.
I knew that we were both stranded, but I felt better being around because I could imagine how it would have been if she was alone. She still had not said a word, but I was so sure that the moment she would need me was close.

I could barely see and I was so famished, since my only meal for the day was the orange in my hand. I wondered why I didn’t buy proper food and why I did not make a move while there were still alternatives. I did not see this coming, so how would I have prepared for it? She probably was hungry too, but how on earth could I help, when I would not be granted audience if I spoke and I had nothing to offer even if I was asked.
The orange was soon a forgotten topic and I was left with my phone. I put down my thoughts until I could no longer bear the discomfort from the harsh blocks that I was sitted on.
I made some moves to find a more comfortable position and in a while, I was standing, but frantically pressing the buttons on the keyboard of my phone.
“what are you doing?”, her voice asked. The angel I used to know seemed to have returned.
“Waiting for you”, I answered.
“I wonder what’s keeping the driver”, she expressed. “We can give him a call”, I probably suggested.
Soon we were exchanging sim cards and searching phone contacts for the number that would reach the man who could save the day.
I was glad that at last, my presence was relevant and ofcourse, my hope was restored since some form of corperation had began.
I never bothered to ask what caused the upset and I just stayed by her until the driver came.
We never spoke about what happened and we chatted freely all the way till I dropped off at the closest stop to my home.
I was so sure that I had lost a lot of time and had stayed unnecessarily hungry, but I was also sure that I had done what I was supposed to have done.
I put myself out there for her, and even though I don’t stand a chance of getting any sort of reward, I’m glad that she is safe and that when the situation got tougher than she could have ever imagined it would get, I was right there for her.
Sometimes, I still ask myself, “what would I have done, if I didn’t have a phone to keep me company”.
My phone is the thing that made the place bearable for me. Sweet was the person that made me stay back at the place.
It is good to be brave, it is also good to sacrifice somethings for the sake of others, but my dear, always ensure that your presence provides solution rather than create problems.
There is always a reason for everything.
The reason for this story is to highlight the person, the place and the thing that made one day so different for me.

Teecee.
Written in response to; “Weekly Writing Challenge: Person, Place, Thing
Companionship: She Was Sweet

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Companionship: She Was Sweet

  1. my friend, you should write short stories once in a while..you had me hooked and you inspired me to write my own Challenge response…read you soon, alexandra

    • Do you really mean that? I can’t wait to checkout your challenge response. Thanks for making me feel great. That’s still the sign of identifying great people. I’m hopping over to view your post! 🙂

      • Yes, earlier in the day I saw the prompt and didn’t make much of it, but now that I had a chance to read your response, well… Creativity sparks creativity and let’s hope it’s good….thanks my friend:)

      • You always make me smile, my friend. I’m glad my post could spark up some creativity (that’s if you were not pulling my legs), you really came up with a nice piece. Thanks for always being there! 🙂

      • Certainly not, my compliment was sincere… You have this way of surrounding us indetail as if you wanted your reader to be distracted from what was happening, like creating suspense with your detailed description… Quite cool!!! 🙂

      • Thanks much, my dear friend! I hope the suspense is a good thing? You have this way of making me good. Well, since I enjoy the confidence it builds, I’m always encouraged to keep giving it my best. Thanks once again! 🙂

      • Oh yes, at least for me, I do like suspense!! and I love details, they help paint a picture in my mind and in your writing they are specially evocative of a scenery 🙂

      • That’s good to know, and it gladdens my heart. You seem to have your own ways around motivating me. I’ll definitely try to improve on it. Atleast, now I know.

      • My opinion has reinforced your confidence in your unique ability… That is outstanding! I am happy for you and I am also happy for me 🙂

      • It’s good to know that you are happy, my friend. Both for you and for me. I consider you the best teacher in the world and you are living up to it. 🙂

  2. Mary Okeke says:

    So right when you wrote “always ensure that your presence provides solution rather than create problems.” I have that in mind all the time.

    • Great! I’m so glad you stopped by. It’s really been a while! 🙂
      From your line of thought, I trust that you are making the world a better place. Keep up the good work!

  3. So good teeceecounsel, I enjoyed the challenage not to read the ending. Emotions are a gift from God it is how we use them that makes the differance, either for good or bad, Jesus expressed righcheous anger, God tells us not to sin in our anger or let it continue, it gives Satan a foothold so he can then controle our responses, anger in itself is not bad but the reason why may be and what results from it.

    So good teeceecounsel to talk with you today, your time, hope to be able to do so again in the near future.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    • The pleasure is mine, Grannie Annie! Your call is one of my most pleasant surprises so far.
      I didn’t see it coming.
      Thanks so much.
      Anger, just like every other habit or emotion is supposed to be under our control. It is by choice that we should act and not by some spontaneous reaction. Anyone who is controlled by anger really needs self-control.

      I feel so great because of how wonderful you’ve been.
      Thanks so much for adding to my smiles. May God continue to increase your relevance.
      Regards to Ron.

  4. Sweetly inspirational

  5. Increase Okechukwu Divine-Wisdom says:

    This is a masterpiece I must say.

Leave a Reply

