Who Are You?

My question for you today is; who are you?
I am not asking what you are worth, I am rather asking what is your identity or better still; how do you perceive yourself?

Who I am should not be determined by what happened to me or by what people did to me.
Who I am should be determined by what I caused to happen and by how I respond to things that happen.
If I consider myself faithful, then I should be faithful.
If forgiveness is a virtue that I value so much, then forgiveness is what I ought to manifest or exhibit consistently.
Who are you?

I know a few people that grumble, complain and murmur continuously; nothing ever seems to please or satisfy them. I also know some people that appear satisfied consistently, whether or not they are treated well.
Who are you?

“We must understand that we are not what people call us, neither are we what they do to us, but we are most likely what we do in response to what was done to us.”

Things always happen. Some of which we can change while some others we can only accept, but what is usually our response to things that happen?
Do we burst into tears or a rage of fury?
Do we complain and antagonize everyone?
Do we create panic and become nervous?
Do we give up and loose hope?
Who are you?

Whatever has happened is history; treat it as such.
Don’t focus on what has happened, but on what can happen.
Face the facts with hope and objectivity.
Don’t be pessimistic, be optimistic.
Don’t think of giving up, think rather of making a difference.
Don’t resort to violence, always encourage peace.
No matter how bad you were hurt, hurting back would never repair the damage, it would only cause more.
Learn to love, even in the most fierce moment.
Who are you?

Who you are drives what you do.
If you often revenge, you are simply expressing what you have on the inside.
We don’t fight because we were treated unjustly; we fight because we are fighters (or so I think).
If we begin to manifest all the love and good that we often acclaim to possess, those who fight will not see reason to fight anymore (hopefully).
If we forgive our enemies, they will have no reason to remain enemies.
If we share the knowlege we have, the number of people that are ignorant will reduce.
If we sieze to be selfish, there will be enough for everyone.
If we smile at everyone, more people will smile back at us.
If we reduce our activities, we would have more time to relax and appreciate the beauty of life.
If we believe that everyone is beautiful, we would see reasons to accomodate them and erase their bad sides.
Who are you?

Why do we always judge?
Why are we full of fear and distrust?
The fact that certain people were victims to injustices and that we were probably abused in the past does not justify the manner of prejudice that we often exude.
Who are you?

Life would be more fun, if we become who we say we are and stop being reactions to other people’s actions.
If I hate quarrelling, why should I continue quarrelling and keep blaming it on the other person?
If I hate fighting, why do I keep fighting and pointing accusing fingers at the other person?
If I love to give generously, why do I keep holding back what I have and blaming my actions on lack?
If I love to teach, why do I struggle with machines, get frustrated at them and blame poverty or the government?
If I hate materialism, why am I struggling for the same things as everyone else and looking for who to blame?
If I love to give willingly and cheerfully, why am I under pressure because of what people will think or say?
If I accepted all these values, why do I judge others as if they did the same?
If I love what is right, why do I compel others instead inspiring them?
Who are you?

Who you are should determine your values, your priorities, your responses, your associations, your character, your mannerism, your temperament, your countenance, your philosophies, your psychology, your phisiology and a whole lot about you.
You should not leave the definition of who you are to circumstances or to other people.
Who are you?

Define yourself by your choices and decisions.
Define yourself by your expressions; thoughts words and actions.
Define yourself by being intentional about what you expect and what you intend.
Don’t just be an accident waiting to happen.
Are you an action or a reaction?
Some people make things happen.
Why not make good things happen?
Some people respond to whatever happens?
Why not respond with love and goodness?
Some people are always full of expectations.
Why not expect joy and happiness for everyone?
Some people often habour imaginations.
Let your imaginations be of a better future; full of peace, joy and abundance of love.
Who are you?
I believe that if you have not discovered yourself by now, you are getting closer to fixing the pieces of life better.
We need one another.
We are one.
Only love can bring us together again.
Discover yourself!

Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teecee.
Who Are You?

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Who Are You?

  1. reneeboomer says:

    Beautiful post. Have a great day. πŸ™‚ Renee

  2. cobbies69 says:

    love is certainly a powerful medicine, always wanting more and can move mountains and oceans. πŸ˜‰

  3. Your messages always so timely and so beautifully loud and clear ~
    i have something for you. ~
    http://barefootbaroness.org/2012/11/29/2012-blog-of-the-year-award/
    Enjoy Tee!

    • Really?
      Amazing!
      This is quite thoughtful of you.
      Words can’t express how great you’ve made me feel.
      Thanks for the honour!

      • Mt Dearest Tee,
        I am delighted that this seems to have caught you off guard. It is a beautiful thing to bring a happy surprise to a friends heart.
        This award, the feelings behind it are as sincere as I can make them on a blog, the internet, without eye to eye contact. But I do trust Tee you will know my sincereity is always behind what I say/
        You made me think of a favorite of the amazing Maya Angelou ~Hope I have not shared with you before~. ” β€œI’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

        I always leave here knowing how you made me feel from the words you share. It is a gift you give your readers and this si why the award is so deserving.
        Again. congrats & and kudos Tee~

      • You really caught me off guard, my friend!
        This is sincerely a pleasant surprise.
        I still have not recovered from the excitement.
        Like you rightly pointed out, I may have forgotten the sweet words you always share and the experiences behind your stories, but I don’t think I will ever forget how you have made me feel by this singular honourable act of yours. It was so perfectly plotted and timed. I really didn’t see this coming.
        Thanks so much once again. I still have not found words that match my feelings!

  4. So you make remember how I feel when I have been visited by you. Be well Tee and be expressed my friend~

Leave a Reply

