What Would You Want To Be Remembered For?

A friend of mine would be leaving for another country in less than a week from today.
A get together was organized today, in her honour, and I attended with a few friends.
A lot was said about her and we all tried to encourage ourselves because of how much we would miss each other.
She is really a special friend to me and to everyone that attended the get together.
I know how much she means to me, it is much more than words can describe.
I watched everyone try to express their experiences with her and to narrate how relevant she had been to each of them.
Tears gushed down some people’s eyes while some others tried to subdue emotions.
This lady really means much to us and has impacted our lives massively.
She is generous, beautiful, patient, tough, courageous, thorough and she never gives up.
Her capacity to share and give up her comfort for the sake of her friends is really phenomenal.
Her encouraging words and her comforting presence cannot be over-empasised.
I remember all the numerous things she particularly did for me and I couldn’t help but shed some tears as some other people recounted the things she did for them.
How could one single, simple person accomplish all of these?
I have lots of sweet memories to hold on to. But there is still a whole lot ahead.
She may be travelling across the oceans and we may not really get to see face to face anytime soon, but it is expedient that she goes to join the rest of her family.
I will always remember her for her smiles,
I will remember her for her beauty,
I will remember her for her creativity,
I will remember her for her tenacity.
I will remember her for a lot!
No task ever seemed impossible for her, and with her; we accomplished much.
Material things were not of much significance to her; she could give up anything for a friend to progress.
She gave her time, her money and practically all that she had, to ensure that things kept going. Her presence made life better for me and many friends of mine.
I can’t recount the numerous times she marvelled me with such selfless acts.
Now I’m left to wonder; what would I be remembered for if I’m to embark on a trip?
What would my friends say of me when they all gather to send me forth?
Would anybody have such feelings as I experienced today?
Have I contributed anything to anybody’s life?
Have my presence made a difference for anybody close to me?
These probably are questions that I should answer for myself, but have you ever thought in that direction?
I think I would like to know.
What would you want to be remembered for?

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to What Would You Want To Be Remembered For?

  1. boomiebol says:

    Wonderful things I hope…

  2. Good one teecee. I would like to be remembered for making a positive difference in someone’s life.

    • That’s beautiful, Ann! Live everyday, making a difference in someone’s life. Fulfilment is found in doing the things that align with our deepest desires. Thanks for your sweet words! 🙂

  3. kalabalu says:

    I would like to be remembered as a loving heart.

  4. cobbies69 says:

    Just to be, would be nice, but as I would not here to hear it , I do particularly worry about it though.. Good thought I must say..:)

Leave a Reply

