Poem: Life goes on

POEM

LIFE GOES ON

Whether I sleep or I dance,
life goes on.
Whether I’m ashamed or amazed,
life goes on.

Time keeps ticking and dates keep changing;
life goes on.
Day turns to night and night turns to day,
life goes on.

The sun keeps shining, the earth keeps rotating,
life goes on.
Whether there’s a full moon or the moon is half,
life goes on.

There seems to be a steady flow,
life goes on.
Whether we are picked or dropped,
life goes on.

Some people succeed while some fail,
life goes on.
Some people die while some live on,
life goes on.

There is sweet sweet loving and bitter bitter hating, yet
life goes on.
Whatever you choose, you choose for yourself,
life goes on.

I desire to fulfil my dream,
as long as life goes on.
Shame plays it’s game and pain seeks it’s gain
but life goes on.

I won’t let strain refrain me from my aim
because life goes on.
Everyone lives their lives and I’ve got to live my own
because life goes on.

Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teecee.
Emphasising repetition in a 4-line stanza poem otherwise called a quatrain. No specific rhyme pattern or scale, but sufficient to keep the rhythm and flow. Good use of alliteration an assonance. Such use of figures of speech fall into the category of poetry.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Poem: Life goes on

  1. Powerful, real, moving. Yes, life goes on no matter what today brings….

  2. Pingback: Philosophy: What Is Life All About? | Wise Counsel

  3. Thank you teeceecounsel great thoughts in your Poem, life does indeed go on and will even when this world as we know it ceases to be, how many will be ready for Eternity, how many will walk in shame without a name.

    When we have the right foundation there will be no sad end, we will be with our Best Friend.

    Take care Son, Christian Love from both of us – Grannie Annie.

    • Thanks much Grannie Annie! Your words are full of experience and God’s wisdom.
      Life goes on, even beyond the planes that we are conscious of. You have set your priorities right and you are emphasising a point that most people neglect.
      “A good name is better than riches”.
      I am always refreshed by your words.
      I’m proud of you, Grannie! 🙂
      Regards to Ron, was excited to see his comment on my recent post about media and the real world.

Leave a Reply

