Wise Response To Marriage Notification

Very often, we receive notifications of marriage/weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, celebrations and commemoration of one occurrence or the other.
We may just be too busy or indisposed to think up an appropriate response to these notifications.
We always intend to respond, but very often, we eventually don’t.
Have you considered generating responses to notifications before?
Sometimes it is not easy determining the appropriate length, the word content and the precise direction that the response should take.

Recently, I received a wedding notification; a message informing me about the union of a certain couple in marriage.
The lady happens to be my friend. I once cordinated a technical unit and she assisted me. I felt obligated to respond to this notification. If the lady could make the necessary effort to notify me, then I should be able to respond, especially as I was still uncertain about honouring the invitation.
To honour this particular invitation, I should be willing to take an eight hours drive to arrive at the destination, take some hours to join in the felicitations and another eight hours drive back to my base.
Flying was not an option, considering certain prevailing circumstances.
Responding to the notification of marriage seemed to be the most precise solution to solving the entire riddle, especially if the response could satisfy all the desires or expectations of the person that initiated the notification.
If I placed a call by phone, I would have probably received series of interrogation that I certainly was not ready for.

This was my response:

“Beautiful news!
May all things work together for your good.
May this union be the begining of greater heights, greater relevance and greater productivity.
-Tc.”

It was clear, precise and concise.

I love those three properties or qualities, especially in communication:
Clarity,
Precision
and Brevity.
They make all the difference, they answer all the questions and they save all the time.

I was satisfied with my response via sms. With just one hundred and sixty characters in a single text message, my dilema was successfully handled.
All that was left with me, was the hope that my friend, who initiated the marriage notification and was the recipient of my presumably wise response, would appreciate my solution.
All I could do was wait.
Then it came:

“May it be so. Thank you sir. It is well with you”.

Communication complete! I smiled.

Probably on the day of the exchange of marital vows, I would communicate with another beautiful text message that she would probably preserve even longer than the memories of the people that would attend the wedding. I just hope that this is some sort of honouring the invitation. I love my friend, I wish her well and I desire the best for her. My presence may probably be very much appreciated by her, but my true heart wishes and words that she can hold on to would sure be more effective considering the prevailing circumstances.

I love to do the best with what is available to me,
I love to deliver whatever responsibility I choose to take upon myself, and
I love to live up to the expectations, if not beat the expectations, of people that have regard for me.
I simply do all of these because I consider it the right thing to do.
Life is beautiful when things are done right, we tend to miss out on a whole lot of fun when we leave important issues unattended.
I hope that my post helps you with wise decisions in response to your invitations and general summons.

Have you generated a wise response to a marriage notification or to any general notifications before?

Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teecee.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wise Response To Marriage Notification

  1. Wonderful, AND wise 🙂

  2. you should receive a noticfication soemtimes soon… and i eagerly await your well crafted response of brevity… i really can’t wait to read the solution to this social delima… i wonder what it will be?

    • That would be nice, I can’t wait! 🙂
      To your surprise, I may just show up wherever. What social challenges require my attention? I’m willing to give them some thought. Nothing is impossible you know? 🙂

Leave a Reply

