Poem; Teaching Guide For Marks

Teaching Guide to marks

score sheet

POEM

THE TEACHER’S MARKING SCHEMES

Have you ever marked a pile of scripts, with many questions in each?
It really is a massive task,
it’s not easy to just teach.

Teaching goes with marking scripts,
and observing rules of schemes.
In engineering, we analyse frames,
trusses columns and beams.

There are strict rules to allocate marks,
nothing is arbitrary.
The guidelines and marking schemes
are simply contemporary.

Every teacher’s guide with marks,
must correspond with the rest.
A separate score allocation
might not necessarily be best.

In dishing scores and marks,
the paramount thing is uniformity.
Reports and grades from tests
would not consider diversity.

The teacher’s hands are tied,
irrespective of reality.
The marking guides are blunt,
without minding complexity.

I’ve just marked some scripts
and I see that everyone is unique.
But marking schemes don’t care,
they never consider your physique.

Are you a teacher?
How do you ascertain priority?
The student or the script,
shouldn’t there be flexibility?

Marking scripts must have guidelines,
but priorities must not conflict.
A teacher’s guide may not be mild
but a child’s right must not constrict.

I teach with uniqueness in mind.
Scores and marks should inspire.
Teaching should bring out the best,
motivation must not expire.

A Poem written by Nnamonu Tochukwu, to help teachers with marking guides and marking schemes. It will guide a teacher to the right priorities in allocation of marks and reduce the indecision in producing teaching guides. The stress of teaching under pressure and battling with emotional conflicts that come from individual differences and uniqueness can be drastically reduced. Read it through, think it through and decide what to do for yourself.
“Poem; teaching guide for marks” is a relevant tool for every teacher and prospective teacher.

Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teecee.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Poem; Teaching Guide For Marks

  1. I love the rhymes! Oh, and the message too
    “…I’ve just marked some scripts
    and I see that everyone is unique.
    But marking schemes don’t care,
    they never consider your physique…” 🙂

    • Thanks so much worshipandswag, everyone is made unique. I love rhymes too, and I have a message too, that’s probably why they both played out in one. You are unique too and I love your message too. You have good stuffs to share and you share with so much swag! Keep up the good work! 🙂

  2. Love it. What an inspiring poem. There is a teacher in all of us. Teaching our kids, our family and friends about life and its lesson, of values and ways to be a better person. Every morning since school started I drove my son to school and I could see how is eyes sparkle when he sees his teachers. Indeed they are a reason be inspired for the generous contributions they gave to the world. Thank you. This is awesome, “I teach with uniqueness in mind.
    Scores and marks should inspire.
    Teaching should bring out the best,
    motivation must not expire.”

  3. It really is a beautiful thing, that you can appreciate the role of teachers in the life of your son and in children, generally. It is nice to bring out the best in each individual, the world becomes a better place. We need to teach right, learn right and live right for all our dreams, both as individuals and collectively, to come true. Thanks for the lovely response.

Leave a Reply

