Words Mean Much

Sometimes I’m a poet,
sometimes I’m a philosopher,
sometimes I’m just a narrator; pouring out my heart and my experiences.
It’s not about the genre of literature neither is it the length or style of my write-ups.
It’s much more simple than you think:
Words mean Much!
A picture may be worth a thousand words as they say but words are worth so much.
A word is enough for the wise, I wonder if a picture is!
Question and answer is feasible with words.
Investigation and clarification is possible with words.
When you really don’t understand, with words I’ll put you through.
Ofcourse seeing a sample may seem more effective than a description yet without words there are no names.
Pictures aid with recognition,
voices aid with identification,
various things may have their roles but words sure form a foundation.
Words are used for definition,
words are used for description,
words can clarify intention and can guide an operation.
Words can do the explanation and correct misconceptions,
words do interpretations and evaluates false impressions.
I may go on and on but my point is simple and clear:
Words mean much!
Because of the power of words it can be used for deception and because of the weight of it’s responsibility, many cannot be true to their words.
The truly brave and wise person would say what is meant and mean what is said.
That’s the way to give your word the honour it deserves!
When I hear words and when I see words, they have something to offer.
When I taste words and when I feel words, I’m sure they offer much.
I don’t know what to say about perceiving words but they sure appeal to the senses.
Regard your words and the words of all others because both to love and to be loved deals a lot with words.
To have peace and to understand, spring from roots of words. And even though actions and intentions count, it’s difficult to deny that words mean much.
The spoken word and the written word never fail to communicate but whether we know of it and what we do with it depends a lot on how sensitive we are.
Words are delicate, yet words are powerful. That simply means that words mean much.
What makes the pen mightier than the sword?
To me it simply is words!
Whatever may be your field of endeavor, don’t try to play with the value of words.
In writing, speaking, learning and teaching; word’s worth is great like with love and hate.
It doesn’t matter now what kind of piece this is, what matters to me is that I’ve said my mind.
I’ve used the words I know to pass across the points I have and whatever it’s called, whether poetry or prose, the words have said my thoughts to you.
Whatever you pick from the stuffs I write, don’t miss the fact that words mean much!

-Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teeceecounsel.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life, Poetry, Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Words Mean Much

  1. Standing ovation. A poetical declaration of admiration!

    • I love the rhymes and alliteration in this your comment! Thanks much by the way, before I get carried away by the inspiration and neglect the necessary appreciation! You’ve just made me smile!

      • how about that! we have an expression here in Mexico that we use when we unintentionally rhyme when we say something: VERSO SIN ESFUERZO which translates (and in English doesn’t rhyme)- VERSE WITH NO EFFORT…thank you, read you soon!! you’ve also made me smile with your very kind words

      • Verso Sin Esfuerzo! Verse without effort. Thanks for that enlightening contribution. That’s Spanish right? I think I just love the rhymes!

      • yes, it’s spanish…there are so many popular sayings in my culture that were made to rhyme which is (I think) part of their ‘staying power’, it’s much easier to pass this on as an oral tradition (most people didn’t read back then)…here’s another one: LA SUERTE DE LA FEA, LA BONITA LA DESEA, translation without rhyme: the luck of the ugly, the beautiful desire…jajajaaaa…I love my country’s sayings, they never go out of style or feel passé..read you soon

  2. Liza Vassallo says:

    I agree, words do mean so much to us as writers and thoughtful communicators because we have developed and trained ourselves to put value to words we share and sometimes falsely accuse others of putting the same importance, but they don’t. My writing journey in the sharing aspect on virtual platforms has allowed me to cultivate and grow strength in courage to share but I realize that those who know us personally or physically from proximitity hesitate with writers; they are a bit frightened other times inspired to trigger a space of inspiration between our works.

    • True words. Writers may really have a lot to do with words and would probably value it more that everyoneelse. Yet, babies start from little to express themselves with words. It’s quite an ordeal to identify why babies cry sometimes simply because they can’t form the words to express themselves. Words are the most precise or rather most basic means of expression. Writers value words and enjoy them too but the same words could be boring to some other category of people. We just have to share our words in places where they’ll be relevant, appreciated and highly priced. Thanks much!

  3. Liza Vassallo says:

    Words are just words without meaning if we cannot see intent….intent behind the words.

    • Inasmuchas the intent is important, words are delicate, yet powerful. The tone of voice, the facial expression, the phisiology, etc while using words also affect it’s interpretation. That’s why it can both be used as a tool for clarification and deception. Using words with ill intent is an abuse. Thanks for that!

  4. Brillante!’

    I so have a thing for words, their orogins, their meanings, their pronounciatin. Your poem is a perfect example why.

  5. Fabulous, you sound very interesting and I must read all your posts! Have you seen the byline on my blog about words? Well it is Tom Stoppard’s really but Iit sums up what I feel about words.

  6. “Words are sacred. They deserve respect. If you get the right ones in the right order, you can nudge the world a little” Tom Stoppard

Leave a Reply

