Wreckless Delegation

This post was supposed to be put up yesterday but I slept off out of exhaustion. Every “today” in this post refers to 21/03/2012.

Something happened today and I remembered my post ‘One Quote On Delegation
Construction on the site where I work has progressed to an extent. The drains are being constructed now and we require a water tanker on daily basis to fill up some plastic tanks which are positioned strategically to serve the labourers that are handling the concrete mixing.
A particular water tanker has been supplying us with water and we make the payments immediately after delivery.
Today’s delivery was as smooth as the other days. The only difference was that the water tanker was being driven by a different driver. The original driver had delegated the day’s operations to someone else! I paid off immediately after the water was supplied to us and I continued with my other responsibilities on site. Shortly after, I received a call from the original water tanker driver ‘the water tanker had fallen along the road’. Quickly I took a driver and we went in search of the scene. Less than Five Kilometers from our site, we found the tanker lying on one side.

From my assessment, the water tanker skidded and toppled while navigating a bend with much more speed than was necessary. The damage was much and the driver’s assistant had been carried away unconscious to a nearby hospital. I placed a call back to the original water tanker driver with the details of the circumstances and fed him with all the information he needed about the kind of crane that would be able to tow his water tanker to safety. The driver who toppled the water tanker did not sustain any injury but it was obvious that he had attracted a lot of avoidable expenses and inconviniences. We also did not know the fate of his assistant who was rushed to the hospital.
After placing danger symbols on the road to prevent another vehicle from running into the wrecked one, we took the driver and went in search of the hospital where the assistant was rushed. We went to about three hospitals before finding the one that the passers-by had rushed him to.
We found the driver’s assistant conscious but with bruises and cuts on his head, shoulder and legs. The doctors recommended that we observe him for twenty-four hours since their scans showed no signs of internal injury. I informed the original driver of all these and went back to site after ensuring that his delegates were stable. After about forty-five minutes to one hour, the towing team arrived and I went to observe the lifting and dragging.

They did a good job and I felt they must have charged much too.
I can’t forget that quote on delegation: One Quote On Delegation. Let’s always ensure to commit our responsibilities into reliable hands if we must delegate.
Always do a good job with teaching and training before entrusting.

-Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teeceecounsel.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wreckless Delegation

  1. orples says:

    The original driver that delegated his responsibilities must feel horrible over this accident, and the injuries to the passenger in the truck. This article is a great example,which further reinforces the truth, in your final statement. Good post, and a good example as to why it is important to choose wisely prior to passing the torch, so to speak. 😉

    • Ofcourse, the original driver felt horrible. He had to come to the scene with the towing team and I could read it from his expression. I’ve been in touch by phone, he has given himself a break to recover from the shock. He took a trip.

  2. Binky says:

    A bit of excitement that need not have happened. It could have ended a lot worse, though. Hopefully the assistant will recover quickly.

    • Sure! The assistant is fine, the surface injuries shouldn’t last long. It could have been much worse and that is why it’s important to learn as much lessons as we can from other people’s experiences. Thanks.

  3. Judy says:

    Good post. Glad everyone seems to be okay. It is important that one knows how to handle a rig like that. It’s not like driving a car.
    Of course your “lesson” is for anyone in any situation where delegating happens. Good words!

    • Thanks much! Everyone is fine and I’m glad about that too. Luckily, there was no collision with another vehicle, that would have worsened the matter. Like you pointed out, anybody that is involved with delegation must do so responsibly, especially when it involves something massive.

  4. Miss Emm says:

    Wow….what a day. Ima practically exhausted by just reading about it.

    • Feeling exhausted? You must have put yourself in my shoes. ‘what a day’ suits. That was once the title for one of my posts. Thanks for understanding what the effects of such circumstances could be…

  5. irenelefort says:

    A wise advice indeed!

Leave a Reply

