The Ideal Friend!

If I had a friend that would be there for me, just when I wanted,
that would smile, precisely when I need a smile,
that would hug me, the very moment I’ll seek a hug
and would speak a word where all that matters is a word,
Would I be happier?

If I had a friend that spurs me up to get things done,
that offers a hand to ease the stress,
that generates ideas to make things swift
and that enlightens me on priorities,
Would I be more productive?

If I had a friend who would ensure that I eat the best meals,
who would insist that I wear the best cloths,
who would verify that I make the best choice
and who would ascertain that I strike the best deals,
Would I be more fulfilled?

If I had a friend that would show me what counts,
that would teach me what matters,
that would expose me to the vital
and that would involve me in the crucial,
Would I be more focused?

If I had a friend that would introduce me to great personalities,
that would position me in spheres of influence,
that would tell me about decision making
and that would spend time with me on leadership issues,
Would I be more relevant?

If I had a friend that would dance with me anytime I wanted,
plead my case whenever I need representation,
rescue me from tight situations
and say the words that set me right wherever I’ve veered of track,
would I be perfect?

I prefer to be exciting than to be excited,
to help than to be helped,
to smile than to be smiled at…
the list is endless but I’m happier when I’m the reason that change came,
I feel more productive when I inspire the motivation that gets things done,
I’m more fulfiled when others are happy because of me,
I am more focused when my action meets a need rather than just fulfilling an obligation,
I consider relevance as having a worthy contribution and not just occupying a position or associating with the leadership and I’m perfect when I’m myself; expressing my thoughts, ideas and concepts without prejudice, compulsion or comparism.
I’m unique and free.
I better be that friend!

-Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teeceecounsel.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Ideal Friend!

  1. cobbies69 says:

    look forward to being your fiend…lol 😉

  2. cobbies69 says:

    that should read FRIEND and not FIEND.. wow, one letter and look at the different meanings,,,

  3. Freedomborn says:

    Hi teeceecounsel some very good words of wisdom in your message, friendship is a two way street, we cant expect to give without receiving or to receive without giving as you implied.

    I am more focused when my action meets a need rather than just fulfilling an obligation… I really appreciated this statement of yours it expresses what’s most important to you…let me ask you a few questions teeceecounsel, no need to respond unless wanted to, just thought I would leave them with you. I’m posting a Power Point on friendship today and someone else wrote on it too, perhaps it’s one of the topics for the week.

    Would you want people to Love you because they wanted to or because they felt they should ?

    If they really Loved you do you think they would have to force themselves to spend time with you.

    If they Loved you with all their heart wouldn’t they want to please you and bring you Joy.

    If they Loved you passionately would they want the best for you or would they plan evil for you to teach you whose boss.

    If they really Loved you but could see you were in error or danger would they look the other way.

    If they really Loved you would they forgive you or hold your mistake for ever in front of you reminding you what a rat you were maybe not by words but by their actions or non actions.

    The Scriptures tell us God is Love and how we are to Love each other, we were created in His image and with His empowering we can do all things, especially Love God’s way…what is God’s way. 1 Corinthians 13 and Galatians 5 and many more.

    I really enjoy sharing with you teeceecounsel – Christian Love Anne , Ron sends his blessings.

    • I think it is up to anybody to decide whether to love me or not. Whether to spend time with me or not. Whether to forgive me or not and whether to have regard for me or not. Friendship is beautiful when there is no compulsion or struggle. True friends will be able to make sacrifices for each other where necessary and equally be understanding where it is impossible to meet up. Love is recommended to be volunteered and not demanded. I don’t know how much of your questions I’ve answered but I hope I helped. There could be friends that don’t spare their time but they are generous with advice and encouragement. They may not be around all the time but their little presence or messages makes a whole lot of difference. There is truely a lot to friendship and no hard and fast rule. But in true friendship there must be forgiveness, understanding and love.

  4. I like the idea of being your own best friend.

  5. This is just marvelous..yes to all Its always better to be that friend to oneself and others
    beautiful 🙂

    • Thanks! Charity begins at home… Building a strong and worthy character for yourself also makes you a potential friend. Always do what’s best for yourself and for others too.

  6. Brilliant and beautiful. All those gifts we might look for in a friend…when we open our hearts and souls, surrender and allow God his gifts for us…we get all those. And, he places the perfect people in our lives when they are needed.
    Yes, it is the greatest blessings when we can be that kind of friend to others.
    God has given you a great gift of his wisdom teecee. Thank you for continuing to share with us.

    • I sincerely appreciate your consistent encouragement! Sometimes we desire a perfect friend whereas we have been designed to be the perfect friend… I love it when a friend adds beauty to my world and I long to add beauty to the life of everyone I come across. Thanks much!

  7. Aww such a beautiful and meaningful poem! If we look for such a friend, we should start to show the example…

  8. maryfollowsthelamb says:

    Great self-insight and I learned something of myself too! Thanks!

  9. Pingback: Post from Wise Counsel…The Ideal Friend « Ann Marquette

  10. Pingback: Friends Contribute To Learning | Wise Counsel

  11. I love this reflection on friendship… I want to ask your permission to print this post and share it with my highschool students…imagine that each one individually accepts being the friend and they form friendships with one another…these would be some of the most endearing and rewarding relationships they might have in their lifetime…giving and receiving in the same measure and with the same strength… 🙂

    • Feel free to print the post, my friend.
      what else was it composed for, if not to inspire people to become ideal friends. It takes a certain kind of heart that is so beautiful and rare, to recognize the value in those simple words. You are gifted with an exceptionally beautiful heart. You often conceive and recognize mind-blowing ideas, even from seemingly little things.
      Permission granted! 🙂

      • Thank you so much, I’ll go in to work early tomorrow and print it out as a Valentine’s Day treat for my students… I’ll let you know how it goes 🙂 I’m trying to give them a glimpse into what INNER BEAUTY is about and how it’s so worth making an effort for… Your words will surely open their eyes and hearts

      • I feel honoured by the way you think highly of my little work. Thank you for having such faith. I know what faith can do. You will have the results you desire through this exercise, and even better results than you imagined.
        You always go the extra mile; you deserve extra-ordinary results and you’ll gracefully be rewarded with them.
        I’ll be all ears to hear your testimonies. 🙂
        Enjoy!

      • We will enjoy reading your words… I’ll keep you posted my friend!

      • Thanks! I’m all smiles and full of anticipation. Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

