Ashamed to leave shameful ways?

I may have done a lot of shameful things in the past,
I may have repeated them over and over again,
Everybody may have known about them or they may only be known to me,
I may have just done some again and it seems like I may yet face some chances.
But I can’t be stuck in a hole,
I won’t get drowned in a pool.
I cannot accept it to be my fate.
I will not remain like this.
I can’t be lost in an endless loop.
Saying “I can’t help it. Afterall, everybody knows” is to be a chicken.
Thinking “it’s been that way for years, I can’t change it” is to be a cow.
If it’s a trap that held me, I’m breaking out.
If I’m stuck in mud, I’ll yet roll out.
I’m turning my back on the things that seized me.
I’m saying ‘no’ to those baits that keep luring me.
There Are Times To Say No!
I’m severing myself from the company that corrupts.
I’m pondering on the things that will keep me on worthy track.
I’m not ashamed to take the turn now.
I know there is a more worthy place for me.
It doesn’t matter what everyone else thinks,
they’ll all stare when my life is turned around.
Neither pity me nor get amused at this,
check within your life and make the right turns too.

-Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teeceecounsel.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ashamed to leave shameful ways?

  1. Miss Emm says:

    I absolutely love this line “I canโ€™t be lost in an endless loop.”

    • Really? I love it too. First because of the aliteration; the figure of speech that has to do with repetition of a consonant sound in a line of poem. ‘lost in an endless loop’ has the ‘L’ sound repeated. Secondly, a loop, in programming, refers to a line of code that runs continuously. It’s just like running round a circle, probably in search of the begining or end. Imagine when a loop is endless. Thanks for appreciating it!

  2. irenelefort says:

    Very true and well said! No matter what you do there would always be something else you could have done instead. No matter what you do there would always be someone who takes offense with it. The best solution is rid yourself of everything that holds you back and enjoy the life you have been giften with. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Oh yes! Life is beautiful when we discover our uniqueness and become determined to express it in the best way that we can, not minding what people think or say. When you standout, they’ll want to be like you. The truely successful usually withstands a lot of pressure, especially when blazing new trails. Dare to be different and standout!

  3. LittleEmz says:

    Incredibly inspirational. I am on the verge of making the right turn. I am trying so hard to let go of the ropes that bind me to my past, it’s a scary path to take though. Your post have given me hope ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’m so glad to know that my post could help you. Certain magnitude of turns are really scary paths to take but daring to do the best thing separates the mediocre from the excellent. Fortune favours the bold. Dare to make that change and you would be glad you did!

      • LittleEmz says:

        I actually started last night, I began to make changes to one of my night time behaviours – indulging in wine. I can easily drink a bottle, last night I blogged my heart away to keep myself busy and only drank one glass at bedtime ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for your inspiration x

  4. Aurora, HSP says:

    Loving this! Especially this line:

    “Iโ€™m severing myself from the company that corrupts.”

    I am going to do the same, thanks!

    • It’s good to know that you love that line enough to do the same! Thanks for the appreciation. A number of times we get to do things that we are not proud of because of the kind of company we keep. Find the right company that will accelerate your movement towards your dreams. Nice decision.

  5. Very nicely done. So much to consider in here. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

