What a day!

Work went just fine. Most machines on site worked impressively without a breakdown.
The backrow that handles excavation stopped occasionally for slight maintenance while the grader had a few leakges that necessitated usage of much more engine oil than usual.
About two hours before close of work, I had contacted the spare parts dealer who would replace the leaking hose but he needed to see the bad one. The grader operator could remove it immediately after the day’s work but I just assumed that he knew what to do or I probably just forgot.
See Have You Checked? and Forgetfulness.
An hour to close of work, something funny but serious happened.
A truck full of crushed rocks arrived our site. We were not expecting supply and I was overseeing some other sections of the site, so I didn’t have the slightest clue of what was going on.
The truck driver began blowing his horn aggressively and in a short while the workers who were in charge of casting drains quickly pointed out to him the positions where he could tip for use. Upon tipping, they reallized that the size of crushed rock he just tipped did not match the size we were using for our drains. We were making use of half inch crushed rocks but this unexpected supply was constituted of One inch crushed rocks. Shortly after the driver was done discharging, he came back accompanied by a couple of strangers. The obvious had happened! They had just offloaded material meant for some other construction on our own construction site!
I was still engrossed in finallizing modalities for water supply and getting directions to another prospective site for measurements when a call came in. All I was told by my subordinate, who placed the call, was that my attention was needed.
About thirty minutes after, I got another call and when I pressed to know the details of what my attention was required for, he left me with no useful information order than my attention was needed.
I still did not have the slightest clue what the issue was and so I continued with my previous tasks and even added making accomodation arrangements to the things I had doing. It took me another thirty minutes to get to the side of the site where all the affected parties were gathered. I had already picked up a person who was willing to accompany me to the prospective site to take measurements, since I did not know the place. Ofcourse, they narrated their stories to me and expected me to generate an immediate solution but I had to keep them on hold and proceed to the prospective site. By the time I was done with the measurements and with sending feedback to my superiors, it was time to close work. I got back to the site and discovered that all the while they were waiting for me, they only blamed each other and argued aimlessly about whose fault it was and whose, it wasn’t. I discovered that the site that had paid for the crushed rocks needed material to work throughout the night and the following day. In other words, abandoning them without a solution would have drastic consequences on their work. I had nothing to loose, neither did any of my co-workers but I had to help them out.
There were only two option, which were to either pay for the material or load it back into their truck. We wouldn’t pay for an item that would not fit our construction, neither would we raise such massive funds after close of work. The option left was to load their truck. I made the facts clear and showed them the feasible way out. We had the manpower to handle the loading on our site but without motivation, they wouldn’t bite an eyelid.
Yes! The solution was down and as long as everybody complied with their own responsiblities, the operation would be successful.
There we were, about to move, when the operator asked: “would we make provision for more oil or replace the leaking hose? It just dawned on me that I had made provision for everything involved in changing the hose except removing it and making it available for a replacement to be enabled. I quickly asked the operator to disconnect the hose and make it available to the spare parts dealer, who was already expecting us with the part.
Everything about the hose went as planned and by tomorrow, we should be getting the replacement. I just hope that the other construction site that was deprived of crushed stones also complied with my terms, because if they didn’t, tonight might just run without work for them.
I’ll still place a call to verify how things went, meanwhile, I learnt to beware of haste and assumptions; without these, that driver would have delivered the crushed rocks to the appropriate site instead of creating all the unnecessary inconviniences and expenses that followed his impatience.
I also learnt to hold verification in high esteem.
A lot of mistakes that occur in our lives could have easily been avoided.
Surprisingly, most people spend so much time laying blames and finding faults rather than seeking solutions or taking responsibility of things that have already been done!
Why cry over spilt milk? Leave out blames and save time!
It’s been quite a day and I feel so glad that I was relevant in producing results and making things work.
Now that I’ve put myself together, all that come to mind is: what a day!

-Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teeceecounsel.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What a day!

  1. Freedomborn says:

    I think you did well teeceecounsel, it is good to be able to make important decisions that work out satisfactory and even if you mess up at least you tried many don’t bother.

    Christian Love Anne.

Leave a Reply

