Once In A While!

Once in a while, I do things that I don’t want to do and I don’t do things that I want to do.
It leaves me with some feelings of imperfection.
Once again, I missed a date!
Not the one you think, it’s with postaday.
I’ve got no post with the date; 8th March, 2012. Though it has happened before, it just happened again.
The last time it did, I wrote: There Is Always A First Time.

My intention is not to quit but to trust!
If night uncompromisingly follows day and the earth never leaves it’s orbit then there is perfection somewhere!
Despite all the intentions, we sometimes skip to do the things we want to do.

The one that leaves me with a much more cronic feeling of vulnerability is to do things that I don’t want to do.
When certain appetites well up, it seems as if feeding them is the only way out. When certain desires spring up, they seem to dominate the entire mind and drive the body to the very same things that may have been previously tagged ‘detestable’.
When these enthising and seducing moments come, I wonder where all the strength goes!
Well, the fact that I stumbled once again does not deter me from stamping my feet and getting back to what is fit.
See: Standing Tall Versus Compromise.
The rivers know their boundary and the seasons know their turn. There is perfection somewhere and I must join with it.
I fell many times; learning to ride a bicycle but since I didn’t quit I now ride and fall no more.
One day I’ll tell my story or my story will be told, of how I fell but didn’t quit and rather sprang to heights.
Falling feels filthy but remaining on the ground is worse.
I’ll rather stand and wipe myself than remain on the ground with shame.
We’ve got a built in feature called resilience, we’ve got to put it into use.
Have you quit because it’s tough or because you feel that you are weak?
It’s time to brace yourself and take the bull by the horn.
I can’t stay in a pool of mess and conclude that I’m fine with it.
I don’t know about you but I’m done with this.
I’m picking up my luggage and heading to cute zone, even if I have to carve out my way from rock!
If I could leave some advice, I’ll ask you to do the same.
Whether it is ‘once in a while’ in your case or ‘every now and then’, you should do the same: pick up your luggage and head to cute zone, even if you have to carve your way through rock. Safe trip!

-Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teeceecounsel.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Once In A While!

  1. It’s so hard to keep it up. I tried to but school always got in the way. Kudos for not giving up!

    -MTO

    • Thanks. So many things always get in the way but the way to victory is to keep hitting till the fences collapse! Hope your are doing well with school? Keep up the good work.

  2. Layinka says:

    I feel the same way…

  3. Stu says:

    Excellent post teecee. I’m a firm believer that the two most important skills/attributes we have in reaching our goals are resilience and resourcefulness. If we nurture these in ourselves and others (especially our kids) we will go far. One tip for not giving up is to figure out if the pain of failure out weighs the pleasure of success. If it does, we need to work on finding more and more pleasurable outcomes to fulfilling the goal to swing the balance. 🙂 (By the way I’ve now redirected my ’empty’ blog to my actual blog now)

    • I’m so glad to know that you’ve redirected your blog to one that has content. I’ll soon be checking it out! Passing on resilience and resourcefulness to the generations after us is one beautiful thing to think up. Welldone!

  4. reneeboomer says:

    Great post! I too have missed ‘once’ since I started my blog. I hope to keep up the ‘postaday’. There are times “life” just gets in the way. I try my best and I suppose that is all one can do. Have a good day. 🙂

    • We just have to keep on doing our best! That’s the only way to maximize our potentials. No matter how tough life seems to get or how impossible some tasks may seem, we’ll keep making moves towards our dreams. That way, we will find fulfilment because challenges are only stepping stones to greater heights!

  5. Good for you, sticking to your writing. There is no failure in taking a day off. I did the Postaday last year when WP suggested it just before New Year’s day 2011. I missed the occasional day or two, sometimes because I was not at home. This year…well, I am lucky to post once a week. Right now I am also waaaaayyyyyy behind on reading the posts from my subscribed to blogs 🙂
    I was away for a week last month and that began the slippery slide down from reading everyone else’s posts, let alone writing my own!!! Sometimes when I want to write, nothing comes to mind.

    As for resilience and resourcefullness, the two attributes I am working on in my life, in more than one aspect of my life, are focus and discipline. I see improvement in some areas. Even though a lot slower than I would like, I keep marching on in the right direction. And one of these days I WILL get better in my writing process as well.

    Cheers to all, and thanks for this post teecee 🙂

    • Thanks much for sharing your experiences and for appreciating my posts. Time is one resource that keeps vanishing and has no safe to preserve it. We just have to keep doing the best we can to maximize the much of it that we have. Discipline is one good virtue to add to resilience, resourcefulness and all the other beautiful ones. Many cheers!

  6. Stu says:

    A printer at a company I used to manage used to say: ‘Stu, there’s a glass cabinet at the British Museum with a plaque that says the ‘Perfect Printed Job’ – the cabinet is empty.’ If we’re not happy till something is perfect we’ll never be happy because perfect is unattainable. Let’s be happy but strive for ‘better’. 🙂

    • Still coming up with more wisdom? Smiles! Hapiness is a privilege that we must enjoy whether or not we get our desired results. Hapiness is a choice and not necessarily a reaction.

Leave a Reply

