There Is Always A First Time

I have consistently put up a post at least, every single day since I began this blog. My last post “Forgetfulness” was supposed to be posted on the 25th of February but no post went in for that date. I didn’t forget, I slept off!
I had that piece completely written out three hours before midnight but while trying to post it, I really can’t tell how I slept off, but I woke up Two hours after the date had changed. What Lack Of Sleep Can Do!
The poem Forgetfulness was prompted by something that actually happened on Saturday. I was supposed to start off operations on site very early, so I took off early with my entire team, only to reallize mid-way that forgetfulness was about to ruin the operations. We had forgotten to buy engine oil for the grader. We had no option but to turn back and go for it. I still have a grasp of why a thing like that could happen. The previous day was a really busy one. The grader on site had been continuously undergoing repairs. Almost throughout the entire week, a certain component was being fixed and re-fixed while the same unusual noise that the mechanics had been trying to correct kept relapsing. By Friday, they came up with a more lasting solution and when they had successfully coupled and tested the grader, they recommended that the engine oil be filled to the required guage before any work be done. Because we had worked hard all day and were approaching dark, we couldn’t pick up the engine oil on Friday. I had an ‘all-night’ meeting to attend and so had my attention on getting to the venue. I got home, got dressed as quickly as I could, had a meal and rushed off to the venue. The meeting was awesome even though I struggled with sleep at some point. At about 3:30am, we were done and I managed to sleep till about 5:30am. In order to meet up with the time, I had to get set quickly and mobilize the team for movement to site. Nobody reminded me about oil so we bougth diesel alone and hit the road towards the site. We had driven for quite a while before the call that reminded me of the fact that no operation could be done without having engine oil on site, came in. Ofcourse we had to turn around and go back for it. It cost us quite some time and some money as well. Even though I eventually got to site and had the operations running smoothly, I didn’t have time to give attention to my blog. At the end of the day, when I settled down to write and post for the day, I slept off and only woke up when it was too late.
How can one cope with forgetfulness?
I’ve fixed the antidote and it is simple.
First, eliminate pressure.
Second, work with schedules.
Third, focus.

Eliminating pressure involves sifting unnecessary activities and involvements that struggle for your time and attention from relevant and important ones. Get rid of the unnecessary and you will find out that there will be more time and energy available to face the important. When there are few things to think about, they can easily be remembered.
Another good way to eliminate pressure is to rest well. Unlike me, in the case above, I had worked round the clock and was still working. My involvements were numerous and unrelated and so even the necessary was forgotten! Remember, have only the important in mind and rest well.

Working with schedules simply means outlining priorities and attaching time frames in which the tasks will be treated or handled. A reminder that beeps or blinks to attract your attention at intervals is quite a good addition to a schedule. A few people are good with doing all of these in their minds but it is most adviceable to write down these things on a note or to enter them into digital reminders or devices.

Finally focusing involves sticking to the plan and concentrating on the most important ones. Many people have drawn schedules that they never used and eliminated pressures only to sleep away the extra time recovered from the exercise. This is because they are distracted and not focused. With focus, you keep reminding yourself of what truely matters and keep putting in time and all the necessary resources into making the best out of them.

A mind devoid of stress and distractions is as sharp as razor. Sharp minds get things done simply because they reserve their best resources for their most important tasks.

There is always a first time! Change is the only consistent thing in life and we should always be willing and ready to make adjustments and accept change in situations where it will be necessary for improvement.
Occupying the mind with the most important things is good practice but don’t forget that, with regards to record keeping; a blunt pencil is sharper than a sharp mind. Learn to put things down in writing so that even if they skip your mind, they wouldn’t skip your eyes.

Arm yourself with these tips and find new grounds. Let your own ‘first times’ be experiences worthy of note and emulation. Sometimes you just have to dare! Take the bull by the horn and try out that new thing that can get you closer to your dreams. Rather than have a first time missing out, have a first time accomplishing the things that you ordinarily would have forgotten.

Author: Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teeceecounsel.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to There Is Always A First Time

  1. Bella says:

    You have no idea how much I’m hoping following your suggestions will help me with my forgetfulness problem. Like you mention, stress has a great influence on how forgetful we can be, and if we can channel that, then half the battle is won. Now all I have to do is deal with my stress levels and I can move on to better things. One step at time! 🙂

  2. Stu says:

    Forgetfulness was lodged in your subconscious simply through the act of writing about it. Funny how that part of our mind can manifest without our knowing isn’t it? Stu 🙂

  3. @Bella, Sure! You are right on point there. Dealing with the stress level is a good starting point. Seems like I have to do some more writing around the antidote to forgetfulness. You’ll get over it soon enough.

Leave a Reply

