Curiosity

Curiosity makes one stick out a neck
and another find lost treasure.
It drives one to see every speck,
searching as if under pressure.
He’ll read meaning to every peck
prying deeply without measure.
Defying strain from a long trek,
employing probing that shuns liesure.

How does it taste?
Is it sweet or bitter?
Tell me in a haste,
no time to check the meter.
That looks like waste!
No way to conserve better?
It’s pepper and groundnut paste,
It probably suits the weather.

I’m not done with curiocity,
I’ve considered obesity,
wondered about ethnicity,
suspected electricity,
pondered upon tenacity,
reasoned around atrocity,
weighed results of publicity
and settled for simplicity.

Out of curiosity, many have strayed,
due to curiosity, solutions have emerged.
Which side should I have stayed?
With whom would I have merged?
Being nosy, always snooping
may not be wrong but may have odds.
Scrutiny and inquisitiveness often reveals.
Just wondering… Am I a curiosity myself?

Author: Nnamonu Tochukwu
Teeceecounsel.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Curiosity

  1. kewsmith says:

    Nice rhythm to poem and good words.

  2. Curiosity without boundaries often leads to lifes troubles that await the unsuspecting victim.

  3. Miss Emm says:

    Curiosity got me to break two ribs and fracture the third

  4. Ah just the right kind of curiousity..how and where..loved the poem

  5. True! Some things are better left undisturbed. ‘let the lying dogs sleep’. Curiosity doesn’t recognise that and often lands the unsuspecting in trouble. Thanks.

  6. Glad you loved the poem! Curiosity springs up from time to time! Sometimes it’s welcome and sometimes it’s not. It has the potencials both to cause problems and to solve problems. I see it in both myself and others… Thanks.

  7. Curiosity can be very rewarding.

  8. Love It! Kudos! Loving your style! God Bless 🙂

Leave a Reply

