The Actor In Me

I have grown so mild, gentle and calm; probably to a fault. I have let people get away with all sorts of things without showing any signs of anger or agression. It appears I never get hurt! It was never that way from the begining. I was an aggresive sanguine! My head, hands and legs were ready weapons and my temper could boil raw eggs! It was really so bad that I lost count of how many times my mother shed tears because of me. I was just a kid and could see for myself that the tendencies as I grew older favoured a worsening temper and not anything near improvement. It was then that I made the decision to work on myself. Funny enough, I had a unique ability to evaluate things and provide solutions right from childhood. I would always see a better way to do things than the ones being imposed upon me by my superiors and in a bid to get them to see things from my own perspective, I get tagged with the insurbodination label. This was probably why my temper was always being awakened. I would expect everyone to do everything right and would flare up at the slightest digression from the best. I hated injustice of any sort and couldn’t bear to watch kids especially, being mal-treated. These made me unique but unfortunately no adult could see it that way! I was the bad egg in their eyes. I could see it, I could feel it, they always said it and the worst part, I was too young to prove myself. My determination to quit a terrible temper was so strong, so I set standards for myself and worked towards them. I probably set my standards too high that when I was done, I could not feel the slightest annoyance anymore. I would observe every situation that warrants flaring up and wouldn’t even utter a word. Right in my mind, I would find every possible reason to wave off the thought of saying something harsh or doing something rash and it always worked. Almost fourteen years have passed and I have been living up to the standards with regards to my temper. Since many people would love to take advantage of a seemingly week person who never gets aggresive, I equally groomed an actor within me. Whenever I study a person long enough to be certain that an aggresive approach would be the best for order then the actor in me plays his role.
I have stayed among different characters for long periods and have put up with all sorts of circumstances without having to employ the duties of the actor in me. A number of my acquantancies would never believe that I could ever loose my temper or even appear to do so!
Interesting isn’t it?
Well, something happened on Saturday!
A new Toyota Tacoma usually used for site operations was available to take care of the available tasks for the day. The driver attends a weekend program and was not available to run the errands, infact, I had to drop him off at school and take responsibility of the car until he was done. While driving carefully and enjoying the new ride, it happened!
In a light’s flash, I saw a bike rushing at me through the rear mirror and before I could think a thing, the sound followed. The bike rider had hit the drivers side of the Tacoma, he struggled to regain balance and as soon as he did, he accelerated harder and began to make for the escape!
For a few seconds I was considering clearing to evaluate the impact on the Tacoma but as I watched the distance between the culprit and the Tacoma increase, the actor in me woke up! I hit the gas pedal and the Tacoma responded. Ordinarily, everybody expected me to let him go as I have always advocated on similar occasions. Infact, the accountant by my side said ‘let him go’ but all I could see in the culprit was gross irresponsibility. He needed to learn a lesson. I shook my head and continued the pursuit.
Bikes can easily meander through traffic and this culprit seemed to have been having a nice time going inbetween the same vehicles that were turning out to be my greatest obstacles. When he thought he had given me some remarkable distance, he waved his hands and zoomed off even faster. At this point I smiled and announced to my collegues that the game had just begun. With my flash and horn I managed to catch the attention of the vehicles ahead of me and they began to avoid me. In a short while, I was closing up on the bike rider. In a bid to distract me, he took a right turn and that was his doom. The road was narrower and even though it was easier for a bike to maneuver through, I was certain that he would not make it through. A couple of times, I considered jumping off the wheels to give him a hot pursuit on foot, as I was very close but I didn’t. I rather kept my calm and followed. My heart skipped as I watched a V-boot Mercedece Benz approach from ahead of him. The space left for the bike was obviously too narrow to accomodate it and it was too late to stop. I heard the tyres and brakes screech, then watched the bike spin. I held my breadth and my brakes too. The bike hit the Mercedece Benz, breaking the trafficator light and slightly injuring the rider. My collegues jumped out of the car and quickly grabbed the bike rider. ‘His sins had caught up with him’. He pleaded and claimed that all the while he was waving his hands, he was pleading with us to let him go. Well, as for me, I had proved my point. We looked round the Tacoma and there was no visible scratch. The man had tried to escape the consequences of his action rather than face them and he landed himself in more trouble. I left him with a few words: ‘take responsibility of your actions, they can always catch up with you’.
I still wonder how he sorted himself out with the Mercedece Benz driver but I sure felt sorry for him.

I had a lot of fun pursuing the bike with the new Toyota Tacoma; a chance I would have missed if the actor in me did not assume his role.
I was too busy to tell a detailed story so I put up a brief post: Responsibility Quote.

Many times we are faced with situations where we may want to cover up or deny our actions. We sometimes do things wrong and try to escape being associated with them. It’s time to learn the best way: pay for your choices, take responsibility for your actions. That way, you will learn and be reputable for responsibility!

Don’t respond to situations with aggression; you may ruin things. Rather with poise and coordination, dish out the necessary measure of whatever it takes to arrest the situation.
The actor in me made me feel like ‘The Transporter’.

Author: Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teeceecounsel.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Actor In Me

  1. Ezinne says:

    lol..teecee, dats sm cool side of U!

Leave a Reply

