Learning From Yesterday

It is routine for me to attend a Sunday service weekly.
The last one was quite unique! I got set to embark on my supposedly twenty minutes journey to the venue, when I began to reallize that I probably needed to re-evaluate my means of transportation. For the mere fact that I was always picked from home to work and dropped back afterwards on daily basis, I had begun to neglect the car. Two tyres were flat and it required a lot of cleaning. I couldn’t get into all of that, especially as I had to be at the venue in time. I am part of a protocol unit that requires my presence in another car that usually ends up around my house after the Sunday meetings. For that reason too, driving out on a Sunday morning was not necessary. I was left with the options of taking a commercial bike or calling a cab. Getting a cab impromptu would definitely not get me to the venue early enough, so I opted for the commercial bike. I got out to the junction where I bargained with a bike man and we got rolling. Right there, on the road, was an accident scene. It was a minor one that involved another bike and a vehicle. I didn’t stop to find out details but I sure knew that somebody was wreckless. Some people may have sustained minor injuries and were obviously missing out from their intended plans for the day. I felt for them but I moved on all the same, since I had my own things to catch. The thought ‘Thank God it wasn’t me’ probably sprang up and I waved it off. About Two Kilometers after that, the bike engine went dead and when the man who rode me checked his tank, it was dry! He had obviously ignored his fuel guage and had brought both of us an inconvinience that could have been avoided easily. I came down and flagged down another bike which eventually got me to my destination. I missed being too late by a hair’s breadth but I thought I learnt a new lesson from that: ‘leave earlier next time or make proper arrangement ahead of time’.
At the venue, everything was beautiful but there seemed to be some issue with the sound. The sound system seemed to have been fixed either in a hurry or with partial connections. I love things smooth and refined, maybe that was why I was slightly distracted from time to time. Obviously, all of these would not have been, if there was sufficient time to setup and to fine tune.
The rest of the day was beautiful but I was left with this idea that there’s no good day for an accident. That thought lingered and probably inspired my post: Days of the week.

It’s Sunday again!
After going through all of these the last time, it is imperative that I should have taken off much earlier this time, but why didn’t I?
No wonder it is said that common sense is not common. Often we know exactly what to do but we don’t get to do it. When we should drive straight to where we can refuel, we would rather drop off a friend first. Rather than take things easy for the sake of safety, we prefer to speed, in favour of excitement. Instead of rehearsing a thing over and over again for precision, we take careless chances at things that are of so much value to us. It may be good to be daring at times but life is not a gamble. Our experiences are meant to leave us with lessons! Lessons that we must implement in order to keep misfortune as far as possible from us and to attract fortune to us.

None of the things that happened the last time repeated themselves this time but I’m glad that I know better.

Make the best choices and have the best results!

Author: Nnamonu Tochukwu.
Teeceecounsel.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Learning From Yesterday

  1. Great post and great lessons to learn…thanks for sharing your experiences and advice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

