Nature Agrees

One tired man came home last night!
Yesterday started well with motivation and enthusiasm. I was determined to be myself and exhibit my uniqueness at any cost. I was up early, having in mind that there was work to do. Part of my uniqueness has to do with words, so in line with my determination, I came up with this: Play Your Part.
Little did I know that it would be my only post for the day.
My ‘To do’ list was long and so was the list of blog posts I had to read through. Infact, both continued to increase by the hour.
I had a quick shower, washed some clothes and got ready for work (basically the daily routine) then the day’s own uniqueness started! I got a call from my boss, (that’s usually a sign of more work or issues to defend) he wanted more work done. Ofcourse I took note, made all the plans then placed a call to my team. We had two sites being developed, seperated by an hours drive. I had measurements to take and estimates to do on the site closer to me after which I was to lift supplies to the one further away. I rushed a meal and stuffed my bags while waiting for my team. They came quite late but when they did, I joined them in the ride. The clouds gathered, the skies darkened and wind began to blow. Soon rains followed, the weather got cool and glasses began to blur. Slowly, we took the trip, meandering through traffic and pressing foward. In a short while, we hit the first site but lingered in the car till the rain was done. I split the team, picked one half then stuffed the ride with jerry-cans. We took the measurements, made the estimates then moved on to get supplies. We soon got gas, filled the jerry-cans and hit the road for the next site.
In an hour, we were there and it was time to start. The bulldozer was already clearing but stopped to take it’s share of gas. With that done, some trees had to go down but they were in a built-up area with electric wires and buildings all around. If left for the dozer, some damage could occur. I had to find a machine-saw man to cut them down and an electric man to dismantle the wires. In seeking them, I got to a place where men drank and talked. They had glasses of palm wine and argued with great zeal. I couldn’t tell whether they were high but they had a point at hand. It was a simple point, that nature agrees to what one agrees to. Some insisted that nature was God while some others had other views. But could it be true that nature agrees to what a person agrees to? Well, we probably may answer that by the time I’m done with this.
I found the man I wanted and moved with him. He helped me find an electric man and a machine-saw man too. I had their price negociation to sort and direction of the dozer operations. The dozer soon developed a fault and they had to change a part. While doing all these, my notifications for blog posts to read were rapidly increasing. I still had not thought up something insightful to write. With both the machine-saw man and electric man, I arrived at fair prices. They moved to face their tasks and I reallized that I was famished as the day was far spent. Before I could find a place to eat it began to bother me that I may just be stuck with a post a day at that pace. Infact, I said to myself, ‘I can neither cope with reading these blog posts nor composing new posts’. I eventually had a good meal and was back to work. By the time we were set to leave, I sat in the car and slept off. I can recall recognizing a few places at intervals but it surprised me to see that I was home, I virtually slept through the entire journey.
Without even having a meal or taking a shower, I jumped into bed and tried to access the internet. I can’t really tell when my eye closed but it was already 4am when they opened and I had neither read through the blog posts nor composed a fresh post.
It was neither my most busy day nor the first day that a tired man came home but it had happened! I had eventually ended up at a post a day! I had agreed to myself that I couldn’t meet up and even though I was willing to try, sleep took over me and I slept unusually longer than normal.
I then remembered the argument that I met among the men drinking palm wine. What a man agrees to, nature agrees also. That further reminded me of a quote I read years ago: “Whether you believe that you can or you believe that you cannot, you are right.”
How true could this be? It just dawned on me that most times we do things to the limits we think we can do and attempt only things that we believe we can handle.
Today has equally been a busy day! I still have not gone through the posts I intend to view but I will not let either sleep or something I have not permitted to deprive me of what I must do.
I dare everyone who is willing to press beyond the norm to take this as a challenge! Agree that you can do more than you think that you can do and nature will agree with you!
You can equally make your own deductions from my story.
I rest my case.

Author: Nnamonu Tochukwu
Teeceecounsel.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nature Agrees

  1. suzicate says:

    Ah yes, I’ve had days like that, minus the machine saw man!

  2. Really? That seemed to have been quite day! So I’m not alone in this? Smiles! Such days ain’t over yet for me though. I’ve got to figure out a way to keep up with posts and comments. Thanks.

  3. Amen Teecee, we must strive beyond what we think we can do in order to maximize or latent/dormant potential. You seem to have had a busy day but God is your strength. Thanks for sharing 😀 God Bless you.

Leave a Reply

