My Wisdom Poem

Wisdom Versus Age!
How can I find wisdom?
Does it come with age?
Or is it passed by blood;
from generation to generation?
Oh! Let me check the Library,
then check the market too.
How will I know wisdom,
in this time and age?

How can you tell a wise man
when there are human cows?
Is it from his grey hair,
his wrinkled face or looks?
Could it be his posture,
his working stick or books?
Oh! How will I know a wise man,
in this time and age?

Can you estimate a meter?
Did you learn it by age?
Do you ride a bicycle?
Did that come from the books?
You know what to do
when your child starts to cry.
Since I’ve already spelled wisdom,
his features I’ll now try.

Wisdom has intuition;
solution from nowhere.
Some say he’s experienced
I think it’s from use.
The one who knows
may not be wise
for the true wise one
does more than know.

To know the good to do
and to do it;
that is wisdom.

To keep knowing
and to keep doing,
that is more wisdom.

To have known a whole lot
and to have done a whole lot,
yet still knowing and still doing
is even more wisdom.

To use what you know and have done
to generate solutions in other sectors.
Oh! That is even more wisdom.

To teach another what you know
and to use it all to help;
that is more and more wisdom.

I wish I knew Wisdom
or atleast classes of wisdom,
I would have named them here
and listed their address.
But the little I know
is the little I share,
while hoping I know more
to be able to share more!

The things you make your habits
are the things that make you grow.
The one who knows a lot
but keeps using it for wrong;
is an unwise one.

Get good at what you do
if what you do is good.
In the midst of doing that,
you may just find wisdom.

Keep doing what is right,
no matter how you feel.
By the time u’ve won that fight,
wisdom is what you feel!

When everyone gets wild
and you just remain calm,
by the time things get right,
wisdom is what you think.

When it’s continuous
that you always act right
even if things are tight;
Wisdom is what you’ve got.

There’s no end to learning
and implementing what you’ve learnt.
If you’ve got that secret and you always live by it then you can find some wisdom
and be associated with it.

Age will only count
if you really gave it time.
Because the more you do a thing;
the better you get at it.

Automate this act and keep it rolling!
Like a generator that never gets tired!
The results will amaze you as long as you don’t quit on it..
You too can be wise
in this time and age.

Author: Nnamonu Tochukwu
Teeceecounsel.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My Wisdom Poem

  1. cobbies69 says:

    Wisdom is the art of being ‘Wise’ lol;)

  2. cobbies69 says:

    PS; forgot to say love it..

  3. Smiles! True. Wisdom is the art of being ‘wise’, where being wise is probably all I wrote plus much more! There really is no end to it’s definition. Thanks for appreciating it. Cheers!

  4. marinasleeps says:

    I was always obsessed with being wise when I was younger. I would read everything, watch anything, write quotes down.

    A teacher explained to me wise parallels with experience and actually taking chances in life.
    Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

    • Wisdom simply put is utilized knowledge. The more you make use of your abilities, knowledge, uniqueness, creativity positively and keep observing and improving, you won’t be far from it. It’s never too late to get wiser though! We’re all in the process. Thanks!

  5. Bluesander says:

    What a wonderful lesson on wisdom and something I think each and every one of us should take into our lives.
    There is a lot of wisdom in this poem alone even as it talks of wisdom. Wonderful and inspiring as always. ❤

    • Glad you found a lot of wisdom within this poem! It was really worth the share! Thanks much! Together, we can ensure that the world is not devoid of wisdom. Share the information!

  6. Love it! God Bless 🙂

  7. Layinka says:

    Oh, this is great! Time is everything, experience is everything. Wisdom = Time + Experience.
    Then greater wisdom = efficiency. 😀

    Thank you for sharing!!!

    • Oh! So sweet! Your mathematics caught my attention! We can call that “the mathematics of wisdom” and give more thought to it. Thanks much! All you have said is precise and true. On point!

  8. Great subject “wisdom” 🙂 I continue to pray for wisdom. As long as our heart an soul are open to God’s teachings and his love, we will continue to gain in wisdom.

    Good job.

  9. Thanks so much for appreciating this piece and for recognizing wisdom within the lines. Everybody really needs to get wisdom, it would make the world a much better place! Spread the good news; we can find wisdom!

  10. kewsmith says:

    Nice words. I find that for me wisdom grows with age. I need the lessons. I’m not sure if this is true with everyone. I have met some young people who are wise beyond their years. Thought provoking post.

    • Just like the phrase goes “practice makes perfect”, age means more time to practice. The assumption is that, if and only if one has been consistently treading the path that leads to wisdom, then age will mean more wisdom! Obviously, age has the advantage but practice, the initiative! Thanks much!

Leave a Reply

