Death

Death may not really be the choice
we look foward to discuss
but sometimes while unsuspecting,
it grabs the one it wants
and though not so palatable
all still bear the loss.
The subject “life” is incomplete
when we omit “death”!

The passing on of a dear one
is not an easy take
feels like eating bitter kola
in the middle of a cake
it seems to come unexpected,
just making fun to break
the wish comes strong,
what can be done
to make this one to wake?

Is man this unprotected
or death’s teeth so strong
to pierce the prey it selected
and suck it’s juice of life?
Oh how dejected
the ones left back may feel!
This big dark hollow void,
that only time may heal.

To the ones far
and the ones near
God calms the pains you feel.
It may not be an easy task
but none should join the grave
your own life’s journey is still on
just be wise and brave
to live each day as if your last
while trusting that you last.

Author: Nnamonu Tochukwu
teeceecounsel

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Death, Life, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Death

  1. transplantednorth says:

    nice poem. My grandmother always said death is a part of life. When she was dying, though she suffered from dementia, she knew it was almost her time. She told my mom, who devotedly cared for her, that she was soon to die, my mom said to her, no you can’t die, I’ll miss you. Grandma’s reply: well, that’s your problem.” She was a very smart lady. Thanks for the poem.

  2. Your grandma must have been strong and brave! It takes much courage to be that prepared. Glad you appreciated the post; it’s a subject that people prefer to avoid. Let’s live the best life that we can live!

  3. marinasleeps says:

    This was awesome!!
    When my mother in law got cancer and it was terminal, she told me one day in weakest state that she was afraid to die and that she didn’t wanna die.
    I didn’t know what to do tell.
    To this day, I wish I had said something. Something that might have easied things for her.
    Its one of my biggest regrets.
    I just didn’t have the balls to say the truth.

  4. Time teaches!
    Experiences of the past prepare us for the future. The present is simply when we reflect and implement. Rather than regret just arm yourself with wisdom for each step.
    Be strong at all times, face the facts and be the best you can be!
    Thanks much for appreciating!

  5. festivalking says:

    Very very real writing and all very true. God does calm the pain of those left to mourn only if allowed. I learnt that when I lost my dad to Cancer.

    Thanks for the reminder!… Stay blessed.

    • It’s true we miss our loved ones gone but there’s a strength that grows. The more we yield to accept the fact, we find that life goes on. We are not left without a helper. Thanks for that comment.

  6. The reality of death is sad but this would bring comfort to anyone. Very comforting….thank you fir sharing this.

  7. You are very welcome! I’m glad I wrote this, it’s truely comforting and has consoled many already. We shouldn’t neglect our unique strengths but should use them to encourage and inspire others.

  8. wordsaver says:

    today earlier I was really happy and thankfull because I am alive.

  9. wordsaver says:

    You really remind me of the preacher whom I saw in one show, have a nice word always and a very big family

Leave a Reply

