The Bulb In My Hand

The bulb in my hand!
When indiscipline sets into work and the one in charge begins to loose regard for both time and his word; picking offense only when the subordinate defaults but expects understanding when he needs more help than his pay can cover.
It’s one of such days again and it’s already two hours past close of work yet I’m in the work premises. Hanging on against my will and forgoing a communion with loved ones. There is a deadline to beat with submission of certain documents and the secretary has to subdue tears and strain her eyes to see the papers she’s working with. Without a new bulb fast things would only get worse. It has to be me or nobody else will go for it. A love for results and the people I work ‘with’ and ‘for’ always keeps me going. Off in the street, while trying to find a replica of the dead bulb in my hand for it’s replacement, I realized that there was some comfort coming from the bulb. It’s smoothness, it’s fineness, it’s uniqueness… So touching. I could feel it say ‘u are not alone’, ‘this too shall pass’. W ow!
A smile bubbled up my face as a tear was being held back from trickling down my cheek. Even the bulb in my hand could assure me that it is well!
Do you lack a companion? Have you lost hope on making advancement are you at the verge of giving up? All hope is not lost. Even your clothes are hugging you tightly and reassuring you ‘we are here for you’.
With a broad smile on my face and confidence in my heart, I can say to the bulb in my hand ‘thanks for being there’. The replacement now hangs in his stead, shining so bright above the head of the secretary. Things are a whole lot better and will yet improve but there’s one whom I won’t forget; The bulb in my hand!

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Bulb In My Hand

  1. Help is often closer than it seems!

  2. Johnson Chukwuma says:

    This is a really inspiring post. I enjoyed and learnt a lot from it. Thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

