Think Repentance, Think Forgiveness!

Repentance And Forgiveness

Have you ever been faced with a situation that either warranted your repentance or your forgiveness for another?

There suddenly became a concept called clearing.
It involved kicking someone behind the feet is such a way as to make the person loose balance and fall.
It is normally a single and swift kick, which often takes the victim by surprise.
Well, you may be wondering why I’m describing this clearing in detail.
I got cleared.
It was not an attempt.
It was a classical clearing.
I fell to the ground, landing on my back.
I didn’t see it coming, and it was in front of the class.
I was in Junior Secondary 1. That’s the equivalent of first year in High school.
I was just begining to get familiar with my new school, new class and new classmates.
I was also begining to feel that I was making an impression or attracting some admiration from many who were equally aclimatizing to the new school and class.
But here I was, on the ground.
Humiliated.
I had just been cleared.
The term; “clear” here, is a slang.
To have fallen as a result of the swift kick, is to have been cleared.
Stephen had just cleared me, and there was no reason for that.
We were not yet very familiar with each other.
I wouldn’t say we had become friends.
I still wonder why I was the one he chose to humilate.
What did we have in common to have been confident that his act of clearing will go down well with me?
How could he have been so calous and insensitive?
What led to such animosity?
Well, as all of these thundered through my mind, I could feel deep down how much I wanted to deal with Stephen.
I was furious, yet I was naive.
I felt humiliated, but I felt that any immediate reaction would worsen matters.
I wondered how I so easily got to the ground.
I thought that a repetition would attract the worst of embarrasments to me.
Ofcourse I got up from the ground and beat off the dust, but it really hurt to know that I was cleared.
I never had a previous issue with Stephen, yet he chose to do this to me.
It hurt!
But I had to let go.
The hurt might have lingered.
To still remember this incident vividly after seventeen years shows that it made quite an impact.
But I let go all the same.
I forgave Stephen and I will always forgive anyone who hurts me.
Ofcourse, every action has consequences, and I may not be too lenient, but I won’t accomodate hurt in my heart.
Letting go and forgiving is one good way to forge ahead.
Some people say; “the evil that men do, live after them”. So why revenge or act out of annoyance.
Why repay evil for evil?
Why retaliate?
Forgive, rather.
Let the past go with the past, while the present becomes an investment for a more beautiful future.
Enjoy every moment, as if it were your only, but make provision to have more of what pleases you, ahead of you.
A bed at hand may be worth more than a thousand elsewhere, yet, the seeds that we sow today becomes the fruit that we see tomorrow.
If every deed of kindness happens to be a seed, what manner of harvest are you expecting to have?
The first secret to progress is the ability to move ahead.
Take off whatever entangles you and keep moving ahead.
Forgive all those that have left you hurting and step into a wealth of fulfilment.
To advance, you must let go of your former position.
To progress, you must forgive.
You may get hurt, and you may have thought of some hurt with which to retaliate, but there’s no point.
Repent from such intensions.
Whenever you realise that you are on the wrong track, turn around, or you will never reach your desired destination.
That’s precisely what repentance does.
It gets you back to the right track.
Repent!

I’ve been inspired by: Daily Prompt: Forgive and Forget? which says:

“Share a story where it was very difficult for you to forgive the perpetrator for wronging you, but you did it — you forgave them.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us REPENTENCE.”

Think Repentance, Think Forgiveness!

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Think Repentance, Think Forgiveness!

  1. Pingback: Don’t Get Your Undies In A Bunch. | Kansa Muse

  2. Cris says:

    What a marvelous piece of writing. Even more so, a marvelous life well lived. I don’t know that it could be said any better. Thank you.

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Forgive and Forget? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. pilbra says:

    Very clever writing you are very encouraging to others

  5. A great message Son and one that needs repeating often, holding onto bitterness and resentment is like mixing poison for those who hurt us and drinking it ourselves it eats all the goodness away in us.

    We know that grief can cause anger, and physical pain, so can confusion and hurt and this includes our hurt pride. This is why we need to recognize what is the root cause of out anger so we can resolve it, not over years but at the time it happens or Satan gets a foothold and we are trapped in our anger and bitterness and resentment and sometimes we even seek revenge.

    We need to be healed of whatever is causing our anger, so we ask Jesus to help us, He promises us that he will carry our load and will give us His rest, when we ask we receive He does not make us suffer to heal us, or do we have to prove we are worthy, He died for us so it shows we are.

    Have we been hurt by those we Love, or like you were Son by a stranger who was trying to show off and made you his instrument to do so and for no other reason but to big note himself, Hey everyone, LOOK AT ME, I’M A BIG MAN! sad but it shows how small he really was but perhaps he has grown up by now, at least we can pray he us.

    Maybe a friend has hurt us or our Parents, sometimes just not hearing from others can hurt, don’t they care about us anymore, can becomes our worry, perhaps they are just busy .

    God tells us not just to forgive others who hurt us but to pray for them and do good to them, Wow can’t we just move on and ignore them, NO! we need to take action because God’s Love is an action. So we move on in Love, which means we show them Love.

    I remember not so long ago being physically abused by a woman whose children were part of my Funday School. This woman had been greatly hurt by her husband and Trusted no one, I felt great compassion for her and always showed her and her 6 Children kindness, so it hurt greatly especially as I had done nothing to deserve her attack but I did realize that at the time she abused me, she had misunderstood my actions.

    I prayed about it and continued to show her kindness in practical ways, such as cooking cakes for her children’s lunch boxes and buying little gifts for them and also helping her when needed and today we are friends, but does she Trust me now, I’m not sure yet, she was greatly hurt and is still holding onto her bitterness and anger but I continue to pray and be there for her and I have shared with her about the poison that eats us away and she listened and agreed.

    Christmas Love from both of us dear Son – Grannie Annie

  6. Such a heartfelt and beautiful post. I’m so impressed!

Leave a Reply

