Marriage Conversation: What I Want From My Spouse

Marriage Conversation: What I want From My Spouse.

I’m responding to the prompt that says;

“Interview someone – a friend, another blogger, your mother, the mailman – and write a post based on their responses.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us DETAILS.”, and this is what I’ve come up with:

A CONVERSATION BETWEEN QUESTION AND ANSWER (Thoughts In My Mind About Marriage).

Question: What do you want from your spouse?

Answer: I’m not married yet, but to go straight to the point, I can say that what I look foward to, in my marriage is love. My partner must be someone I love and someone that loves me in return.

Question: What do you mean when you say love?

Answer: I’m trying to be as brief and precise as possible. I want to get married to someone that cares for me.

Question: Really? So how will you explain care to me?

Answer: This may require more words, but to paint a clearer picture, I’ll lay my hands on a few:
I would love to get married to someone who Respects me, appreciates me, listens to me, shares with me, sacrifices for me, regards my opinion and sticks with me.
I’m sure you understand that I am invariably saying that I would love to marry someone who I can do the same for, willingly and cheerfully.

Question: That’s quite awesome! You really stuck to a few words. Do you still have something more to say?

Answer: Why not? There would always be more to say.
Marriage is a relationship that thrives on understanding and love. Due to individual differences, ideals may differ and so would paradigms. It takes people who are commited to accomodating the differences of their spouse, to stick together.
Marriage involves two individuals from different families, coming together to form a new family.
By so doing, they raise children, they transfer values and they sustain the existence of society.
A man and a woman coming together as husband and wife, must put the fact that their union would have an influence on the society, into consideration.
Rather than produce a deficient family, I would rather stay unmarried.
I have come to understand that marriage is not for sex alone. The essence of marriage does not terminate in just companionship either.
Inasmuch as all of these are vital to marriage, we must not neglect the other important aspects, like preserving values, improving society, increasing efficiency and replenishing or reproducing our kind.
Who wouldn’t want to do a better job than the generations that preceded?
I have said quite a lot, but I will not forget to mention that no matter how appealing the physique of a prospective spouse is, I would not discard the character and the potential to change.

Question: Are you saying that sex and companionship are not important considerations to make in a marriage relationship?

Answer: Not at all! How could I have said that? There is need for a relationship to flow gracefully. If there is neither a physical attraction nor some sort of psychological attraction, relationships can become a strain or a drag.
I look foward to a spouse that I would be excited to meet at any time and any where.
I desire a wife that I would be proud of and who will be proud of me.
What husband would want a wife that he would be ashamed of, or what wife would want a husband that she would be afraid of?
Always be sure of the extent you are willing to go with your spouse before you engage.
I personally would not like to consider looking back, the moment I’m in.
For me, marriage must be done right the first time.
Get it right from the onset and there will not be a need for an amendment.
Anything worth having is worth paying for. Why not wait for the mate that won’t leave you in regrets?
Don’t take the bait, keep your eyes on your best.

Question: That was quite an elaborate response. I’m sure you still have some more.

Answer: Definitely. Only that I would choose to answer more specific questions. This conversation may never end if we keep going this way.

Question: You are saying that there’s no new light to throw on this subject?

Answer: Not necessarily. I’m only saying that I will follow your lead on more specific questions.

Question: Maybe this should bring us to the end of this marriage conversation.

Answer: If you say so.

Question: Thanks for your time, Answer. It was really a pleasurable conversation.

Answer: The pleasure is mine, Question. You are always welcome.

Teecee.
Marriage Conversation: What I Want From My Spouse.

About teeceecounsel

Who am I really? Can that be defined yet? Probably by the time I'm long gone and all the pieces of my activities are compiled and analysed then you can know what you want to know about me. Meanwhile, I write. Not because I love writing but because I love people. I love to care and love to share. I'm a deep thinker and I love to believe in the impossible. The ideal is attainable and a shot at it must be given. Don't say 'It won't work' rather ask 'how will it work? Nobody is ever doomed unless they made the choice. To resist good and to adopt evil is already doom. To loose hope is to choose doom but to believe that every step is a passing phase leading towards your hope is to choose progress. I may go on and on but my posts say it all. I don't force you to agree, I only say enjoy!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Marriage Conversation: What I Want From My Spouse

  1. Pingback: Saturday Spinning | Tommia's Tablet

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: FAQ | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: FAQ | My Kaleidoscope

  4. Pingback: Hakuna Matata | Processing the life

  5. Pingback: An Army Wife’s Memoirs | A mom's blog

  6. Pingback: The finer details | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  7. Hi Son , good dialog when seeking a woman to Love with all your heart and also sacrificially and in wanting to put her first as Christ does the Church and in longing to be her life long friend as well as her devoted husband.

    A man and woman’s’ heart should be so hidden in Christ Jesus that to find each other they need to seek Him first.

    Christian Love from both of us – Grannie Annie.

    P.S One day ask me what I was looking for when I, found Ron

  8. Love will make a marriage work despite of the many trials and hardship that may happen along the way. You are so right my friend.

Leave a Reply

